Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great bread! Perfect density, holds up well for sandwiches, great taste! I will make this one often. I like it as written but do think that the changes other reviewers mention (2 c whole wheat to 1 cup bread flour, 1/4 cup honey, 1 t salt) make it even better. I used my bread machine to mix/knead and baked it in the oven for 27 mins at 350 and it came out a beautiful loaf to look at too! A new favorite, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Even though I normally don't care for whole wheat, I'm trying to switch over and this was really pretty good. My daughter complained because it wasn't white bread, then proceeded to eat 2 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had been looking for Whole Wheat Bread that tastes better than what you buy from the store...THIS IS IT! The crust was perfect, the bread was tasty. My kids wanted to eat just bread. I followed other reviews and put 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour. I didn't have a lot of honey so I put 1/8 cup of honey and 1/8 a cup of agave. It was delicious! This is going to be our weekly sandwich bread now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
First from-scratch success in my bread machine! I'd been using my machine mainly for just dough, as anything other than a packaged mix just didn't bake right in my machine. This recipe was DELICIOUS! I used the suggestions made by several reviewers (increase honey, salt, and whole wheat flour) and my loaf was beautiful! Nice crust, soft enough to slice for sandwiches, and toasts up wonderfully without being too "crumby". Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I love this bread; light and tasty. As usual, I used the dough setting and kneeded the bread a little on a floured surface folded the sides under and flipped it into a well oiled bread pan. I baked this one at 375 for 25 mins and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDESSB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This bread is just okay. The loaf turned out well, but the taste was not anything wonderful. I used 1/4 cup of honey and I couldn't even really tell. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this recipe a long time ago, no modifications. That's some regular bread, there. Then today I tried it with the suggestions in the comments. 1/4 cup honey, 1 tsp salt, butter instead of oil. I also added a handful of crushed walnuts for texture. I just had a slice, lightly toasted with butter, and... wow, that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really wonderful bread. Thank you, I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is very easy to follow, and turns out great. We just got our bread machine, and have been looking for recipes, and this one is definitely a keeper. We did take into account what some reviews said and used 1/4C of honey, and also added some vital gluten, but everything else was kept the same. We couldn't wait to cut into the loaf! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States