Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I decided to buy a bread machine after several disappointing purchases from my neighbourhood bakeries. The last loaf I bought cost $3.00 and was as hard as a rock. I couldn't even use a slice as a frisbee; it was too heavy. What made it worse was that the lady assured me the bread was baked that day. I received my Hamilton Beach bread machine last night and couldn't wait to try this recipe. This was my first time baking bread - ever. I took the advice of other users and increased the salt and honey. It was hard to wait 15 minutes to cool the bread down. The smell was enticing. It is delicious - soft, warm,light, mmmmmm. My two year old son was adamant that he was not hungry, yet ate 2 slices. He even rejected eggs - his favorite breakfast food so he could have "more bread please, mommy." I cannot wait to make this again when my husband comes home. I believe this bread will make a whole wheat convert out of him. Next time, I will try the dough setting and bake it in a traditional loaf pan. Thanks, Kathy. Update: I baked this bread for my husband when he got back from his trip last night. He told me not to feel bad if he didn't like it because he doesn't like wheat bread. Needless to say, he ate his words and 3/4 of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Since my husband is on a low sodium diet, I am glad to find a bread that works for us. This was very good. I made it exactly as called for with the ingredients, but don't have a bread machine, so made the "old fashioned" way, by kneading and rising. Put the flours and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, put honey, yeast and water and mix, add the oil, then put that into the dry ingredients. Mix well, knead for about 8 minutes on a floured counter, let rise in a greased, covered bowl for an hour or so, punch down and form into a loaf, put in greased loaf pan, let rise again. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350. I will make this again - made a delicious, dense, sweet bread with very little salt. Also, being in a loaf form, we got more than 10 slices from it, making each slice lower in calories and sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I took tips from other reviewers and made it with: two cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup bread flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/4 cup organic maple syrup, and the rest is exactly like the above recipe. The previous night I tried making a whole wheat loaf with the breville recipe booklet but it was so dense and didn't rise. This was AWESOME; chewy, moist, soft, not too dense not too light, semi sweet, tasty, and it rose perfectly. I put my bread maker on basic/ light crust like one of the reviewers and it took an hour and a half to bake which is magnificent compared to the whole wheat setting which takes 3.5 hours. I love this bread and will be making it over and over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've just tried this bread today for a first time. Baked it in my new bread machine. Turned out wonderful! I used 2 cups of wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour, 1/4 cup of honey and 3/4 of tea spoon of salt. The bread is soft and moist. Great flavour! It's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Awesome as is. However I've tweaked it for a softer/sweeter taste that my kids will eat without complaining. I use 1 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup honey, 1 TBSP white sugar, 1 tsp sea salt. I add 1-1/2 TBSP Vital Wheat Gluten to make it softer. Other than that, everything the same, put on dough cycle then I put in a greased bread pan, let it rise, and bake at 375 degrees for about 30 mins. (keep an eye). YUM!! My go to recipe! Thanks for sharing, gave me a good base to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. JOHNSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Used the suggestions from SASSY43028 and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been searching for my perfect honey wheat bread recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I'm still looking for my perfect recipe. This was dry, bland, and oddly spongy. I'm not going back to this recipe. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe was really good. I used molasses instead of honey, only because I had some that needed to be used and I really like the flavor of molasses in baked goods. It's really good warm with butter. I think the recipe is great the way it is and requires no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
very good, used 2c ww flour, 1c white. 1/4c honey, 1 tsp salt. use 1 tsp yeast 2 lb loaf, ww setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoteacher
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I wasn't real happy with this recipe until I modified it: I proofed the yeast adding it to the 115 degree water and honey for 10 minutes, then add the oil and SIFTED flours in that order. It worked just as good in a $20,low quality, purchased on CL bread machine! I've substituted molasses for honey and it's even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States