Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I took other reviewers advice and used 2 cups whole wheat flour & 1 cup bread flour, and added 1 tsp salt, increased the honey to 1/4 cup, and used 2 tbsp melted butter instead of oil. I also used the dough cycle on my breadmaker, punched down the dough and let it rise for 30 mins. in a loaf pan covered with plastic wrap before baking it @ 350 degree's for 25 mins. I also put a pan of water on a lower rack of my oven and my DH said after eating some of this bread...EXCELLENT! So this is a keeper with some minor adjustments....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This is the BEST bread recipe I have come across.I did change the amount of honey to 1/4 C. and used real butter instead of oil. This is my new staple bread recipe. Thank you so much for this submission. It also works well with molasses( I ran out of honey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I only gave this 4 stars since I changed several things based on other reviews. I used 2c. wheat flour and 1c. bread flour. I also used 1/4c. honey. I was concerned that this would make it too sweet but it balanced the other flavors perfectly. I also used 1t. salt. The end result was WONDERFUL. I will definitely make this bread again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This bread is good. However, it is much better with more salt: 3/4-1 tsp, depending on taste. More honey also improves the taste; my friends and I like about 5 tbsp. BTW, I measure the oil in the tablespoon first, which helps the honey not stick to the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Terrific! Increased the honey to 1/4 cup, the salt to 3/4 teaspoon, and changed the flour -- decreased the white by 1/4 cup and increased the whole wheat by the same amount. My husband and I stood in the kitchen eating thick slices of this with butter while the rest of dinner was finishing! This will make a perfect set the timer on your bread machine and awaken to homemade bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe as is (although the amount of salt called for does seem too little), but also great for tinkering to personalize to your own taste. So, as many others have done, I put my own spin on this. I had milk I didn't want to waste, so I used that instead of water. I upped the salt to 1 teaspoon, substituted butter for the oil, used equal amounts of whole wheat and bread flour, and added 1 T. of vital gluten for good measure! Many reviewers increased the honey to 1/4 cup, but I found the 3 tablespoons to be perfect. For those who choose to stick to the recipe as written, I suggest you at least increase the salt to 1 teaspoon. This is just a great loaf of bread - moist and tender crumb, beautiful color and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
I modified the recipe for high altitude (I live at 4700 feet) by reducing the water to 1 cup plus 1 T, and reducing the yeast to 1 teaspoon. It turned out great. It is very light for whole wheat and should pass the "kid friendly" test OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is the BEST breadmaker recipe I have ever found! After trying many failed recipes that came with my breadmaker I was convinced there was something wrong with my breadmaker until I tried this delicious recipe. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This bread is wonderful, even my 9 mo. old son thinks so!! I upped the honey to 1/4 c. and the salt to 1/2 tsp. Try this: Slice off a nice thick piece, butter both sides and toss into a warm skillet. Fry on both sides as if making a grilled cheese sand. Right out of the pan, spread on some peanut butter and drizzle with honey. That is so awesome. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Good basic bread. I didn't have enough honey though. I agree with the other reviews, add more honey. Also, this is for a one pound loaf so I changed the serving size from 10 to 15 to make a 1.5 pound loaf. Next time I will size it to 13 because it slightly overflowed the machine and was a little doughy. It might also use just a little more salt to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States