Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The bread had a light texture just like my hb likes it. The four stars is because it doesn't taste that wheaty, which is what I like. Next time, I may try putting the dough into two bread pans and baking them in the oven, as my bread machine loaf came out really tall -- not a fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
As written, it is pretty decent other than the salt ratio was off so I used a tsp. This bread as written wasn't my favorite. The second time I made it though it came out outstanding. We like a sweeter wheat so I used about 1/4 of a cup of honey, I also used more wheat flour like the other reviewers- 2 cups wheat, 1 cup bread flour and still 1tsp of salt. It was loved by my family and is always requested. I love this recipe was easy to customize. I would rate a 4.5 because of the lack of salt, it really does add to the final loaf and it could mess a newbie bread cook up. But other than that fabulous! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Could I make this without a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is my bread staple. I do add more honey as per other comments. Great bread toasted. I always get comments from my co-workers about how good it smells while toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I've made this bread many, many times. I follow the other reviewers suggestions and use 1 cup white bread four and 2 cups whole wheat flour. I also increase the salt to 3/4 tsp. and use 1/2 canola oil and 1/2 olive oil. This bread is wonderful! Try it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This appears to be an excellent bread the flavour is fabulous, BUT I have a problem, the bread is not rising and is dipping in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hellen Meiring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good! My husband took one bite and said, "this is good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great bread. Used 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white flour, and 1/4 cup honey instead of 3 tbls. Result was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Nice bread. I followed recipe exactly and I can definitely taste the honey... Next time, I'll increase the amount of Wheat to Bread flour ratio, as I think a more dominant wheat flavor would be good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I add one more tablespoon honey taking out one TBS of water and add one tea spoon butter.It comes out more sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States