Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I subbed my home ground rye flour that I needed to use up, for the whole wheat as I had none ground and ready. I ended up using close to two cups of rye and cup of all purpose (Canadian AP has enough gluten for bread making) along with a couple of good tablespoons of gluten flour. I had to adjust the water by 3 tablespoons to accommodate the rye flour's dryness. This turned out FABULOUS with excellent texture and structure and makes fantastic toast. I can slice it very thin too for toasting. I am not a huge fan of my machine for actually baking bread, usually using for the dough cycle only. I will be making this bread again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was very tasty. Made the recommended ratio tweak and used 1 tsp salt. Mixed with my Kitchenaid with the dough hook. Used agave instead of honey, added a 1/2 tsp brown sugar to feed the yeast. Delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe, we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the BEST bread ever in my opinion!!! I followed the suggestions of increasing honey to 1/4 cup, increasing salt to 3/4 tsp, and changed the flour ratio to 2 cups WW and 1 cup BF. I also used 2 tbsp of melted (and cooled) butter in place of the oil. Baked up beautifully in my bread machine on the light setting. I took it out 6 minutes before the baking cycle was over. Perfect crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I also changed the wheat/bread flour ratio, upped both the honey and salt. used the dough feature on my bread maker and then let it rise in the pan for half an hour. baked at 350 for 25 minutes. This was by far the best bread I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this and followed the directions as they were. My son who is 4 years old and a very pickey eater said this was "very good!" My husband likes to eat very healthy so this will be something we will make again and again! ( BTW- this was my first time making bread and it turned out! Good luck to all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is my go-to bread recipe. I do use butter instead of oil, milk instead of water, and I use all white whole wheat flour. I was having trouble with my bread collapsing at the end. When I decreased the liquid to 1 cup, that problem was resolved. It's a great basic bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a huge hit with my kids! "The best bread you've ever made" to quote my oldest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
came out awesome. followed other reviews and did 2 c whole wheat, 1 c bread flour. more salt, more honey to taste. made dough in the machine and then popped in the oven for 25 mins at 350. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
It took more than 5 tries to get this recipe not to fall/sink. Here is how I fixed it. I live at 3600 ft and usually don't have to adjust for high altitude. Decreased water to 1 cup + 1 TBSP Increased salt to 3/4 tsp or heaping 1/2 tsp Decreased yeast to 1 tsp Adjusted bake cycle to Basic Light setting and removed promptly upon completion. It was very delicious so I was determined to make it work. I have an Oster 5838 Bread Machine. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This bread is very easy to make and tastes great :) Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Joy Rochon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States