Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I make a loaf of bread every week or two. Mostly Jalapeno-Cheddar, Spelt, Oatmeal etc.. This is the First Whole Whet Recipe that I actually Liked. And I REALLY LIKE IT! I did make the recommended adjustments, and baked it in the oven. EXCELLENT Recipe! Best Whole Wheat by far!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the first loaf of bread I made in my breadmaker. We regularly purchase honey wheat bread so when I recieved a breadmaker as an early Christmas gift the first request from my fiance was honey wheat. The bread is delicious (tastes almost exactly like the store bought that my family loves but is so much fresher and softer), and my fiance and kids love it! I'll probably add more honey and salt for a bolder taste as other reviewers suggested the next time. The serving size is a little off and the recipe makes a 1.75 pound loaf instead of a 1 pound loaf. I doubled the recipe to make a 2 pound loaf (the biggest size my breadmaker accommodates) but the dough overflowed from the top of the pan while it was rising so I split it in half which yielded two almost 2 pound loaves of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tannersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bartonsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I make this bread every week and it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeeMan
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Use my Cuisinart for a quicker loaf. Also used my dehydrator to let it rise and the honey from my hives. Thank you ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really good! It raised beautifully just as it is written, and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Was a good bread. I did a half white flour and half whole wheat flour. The Kids don't like whole wheat bread and they ate it up. I thought the flavor was good, but it came out heavy. Could've been me with the measurements. Don't think it was the bread machine. May try again to see if it works out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponderoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather C
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This bread turned out fantastic. I was plesantly surprised at how good this bread is. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is the BEST bread yet! I did make some changes myself. Added 1 egg, only 1 cup water. Instead of vegetable oil, six Tbsp ground Flax seed and 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 Unbleached, Unbromulated white flour and 1 tsp salt. Wonderful texture. Thank you Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
High Altitude/Vegan Changes Great recipe. With a few changes, came out perfect! I live at 8000 ft alt. It's neccesary to increase water a little bit, increase salt and decrease yeast at this altitude. I added another tbl water, changed the honey ( I am vegan) to 1/8 c molasses and 1/8 c agave sryup. Increased salt to 1 teaspoon, 1 3/4 c whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 c spelt flour. Same on oil and used 1 tsp yeast. I put it on the bread dough cycle and when it was completed I took it out, punched it down and put in a greased bread pan. I let it rise again and baked at 350 uncovered 20 min and then covered with foil for another 20 min. It came out light and airy and very tasty! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This bread is so wonderful that I had to comment! I agree with the other comments that it is great for sandwiches. I was always looking for that great bread machine recipe and this is it! One tip is to make sure the water is very warm (110 degrees) you may want to use a thermometer the first couple times to make sure it's in the right range. One of my loaves did not rise and I think this was why. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States