Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I followed the advice of more salt and more honey in the comments area. This is an excellent bread. Having a slice now with margarine and a drizzle of honey and it's DEEEE-LISH!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Well I made even more modifications. I used whole wheat flour ONLY (no white flour, no bread flour). I replaced the water with 1 and 1/8 cups warmed whole milk. And used 2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast. I used the 1/4 cup honey and 2 tablespoons of melted butter and the full 1 teaspoon of salt. I set the machine to rapid bread cycle and waited. We had trouble restraining ourselves to wait even 5 minutes after this came from the machine to cut it but it was no matter. It was INCREDIBLE! I was not sure how it would turn out at all and was prepared to have wasted the ingredients since I made so many modifications. But this is a very forgiving bread, evidently...and did I mention incredible? It's been done for almost a half hour and is nearly gone now. I'll have to make another loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callinectes Sapidus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I added 3 tablespoons of Vital Wheat Gluten, increase salt to 1 teaspoon, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of bread flour. The bread rised nicely and fluffly. For the twist, I added 1 and half tablespoons of cocoa powder, the bread came out to be very dark in colour with a hint of chocolate. Very nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuettr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy! I added the extra honey...1/4 c. And 1tsp salt. Also used 2 c. Whole wheat flour and 1 c. All purpose. It is moist and my 3 year old will not stop asking for more honey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! I use my bread machine to make the dough, but I don't really like the shape of the bread if I bake it in the machine so I put it in a bread pan to rise for an hour. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
awesome! I used half water and half milk and a bit more honey. Then I made rolls with the dough. They were the best Ive ever made. My boyfriend ate half the rolls with blueberry jam before they were even cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good bread with a great texture. I personally feel that the writen yeast amounts are too small, so I increased it to 2.25 tsp and 1 tsp salt and it almost overflowed my bread maker. My mistake, but the texture was amazing, and I'm pretty sure that the extra yeast got it there. The extra salt was to moderate yeast activity, but I guess I have some healthy yeast in the kitchen right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I make all my own bread, and this is the recipe I use to do it. This recipe exactly as written is fabulous. I chose it because it is whole wheat, has less sugar and less oil than most other recipes. The taste and texture are fabulous, and my family and I love it. I won't eat store bought bread now unless I have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I think I have finally found the "sandwich" bread I have been looking for! I did change to 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup bread flour but only because I like to get as many whole grains into the family I possibly can. I have made a loaf a day for about a week now and nobody has asked for store bought because they are so happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My husband loves this bread! I use my bread machine and end up making two loaves out of this by using the dough setting my my machine. I then bake in the oven. Great Bread! Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States