Honey-Wheat Sunflower Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Although my loaves were not picture-perfect (I let them rise too much, then they fell in the middle), the flavor of the bread is so good and hearty and earthy! I started with some leftover batter from the Whole Grain Pancakes (on this site), sprinkled a packet of yeast over it and let it sit overnight. From this starter, I added the ingredients for this recipe. I only had 1/3 cup each of oatmeal and sunflower seeds, so I added about 1/2 cup of granola! I would probably only add 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds. This is a wonderful recipe that I will definitely make again. Thank you, Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I absolutely love this bread. It is the best bread, home-made or otherwise, I've ever had. I'm including the high priced wheat nut breads as well. I made one slight change, only due to neccesity: my store didn't have any unsalted sunflower seed so I used salted ones but decreased the added salt by half. I'd give this bread a 10 star rating if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janean Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
mmmmm! i've made this bread a few times and we all love it! i usually use half sunflower and half golden flax seeds, but the recipe is delicious just as it is. i've also subbed dry buttermilk powder and molasses for the dry milk and honey, for a little bit of a tangier loaf for savory sandwiches. it toasts like a dream and my kids gobble it up. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARA K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
YUM! I am eating the first piece now, right out of the oven! Only thing I did was used 2c. skim milk in place of the water, to sub for the dry milk powder because I didn't have any. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
best bread to make pb&j on ever! i want to make this bread once a week now. so good! i did 1/2C sunflower seeds, 1/4C pumpkin seeds and 1/4C flax seeds. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is great bread. I used a breadmaker on the dough setting - just tossed all the ingredients in without any proofing in the order of wet, then dry, then yeast. The baking directions are spot-on. Flavorful bread that slices perfectly and has a lot of substance. Only needed about 2.5c bread flour in the machine. Next time I may use a little more wheat flour than this calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
DELICIOUS Bread! I'm keeping this recipe for the rest of my life. THANK YOU! It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My husband and I purchased a bread machine over a year a go and this was the first recipe we tried with it. Since that first time, we haven't bought a loaf of bread from a store since! We have fallen in love with this bread. We make it on almost a weekly basis and it's impressed every guest that's tried it! It makes amazing toast and even nicer sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAJones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is a really yummy bread. Unfortunately, it has such a distinct flavor of its own that it's not a good dipping bread (for soups or anything). I also didn't like the sunflower seed taste as strong as it was. I think I would probably half the seeds next time. (btw I did the recipe as written!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great with strawberry jam or butter. Best when eaten fresh out of the oven. High crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States