Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love trying new recipes for breads and rolls and this one will be added to my recipe book! These are very good and taste better than any sandwich shop's rolls! They are also simple to make. I divided the dough into 8 portions and made hoagie rolls. They are a little big so next time I will make 9. We will probably make this our "go to" recipe for hamburger and hot dog buns to. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Wonderful! The only change I made - just cut the dough into pieces and formed into rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These make THE BEST burger buns. I do not brush them with butter as it makes them greasy. The only change I make is to use 1 c whole wheat, 1 c white wheat and 2 c bread flour. They are so soft and taste divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are a really good, all purpose picnic/dinner roll. Much better than store bought and much less $$... I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid mixer and doubled the recipe. For those who are first time bakers, if it is a humid day you may need to add more flour to knead the dough properly and get it where it is supposed to be. I have found this to be true of any flour based recipe. In Wintertime, when the air is dry, versus in the Spring or Summer when it is humid, flour based recipes like bread, rolls and cakes behave differently based on humidity. 5 stars for the first batch- I have 4 more batches to make and bake and freeze before our son's graduation~ Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Simple recipe - great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Easy the family loved them, these went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These taste wonderful with a nice honey taste. I cut my dough with a wide mouth mason jar which is nice if you want buns but too small for a nice sandwich bun. These will be a staple for our house. I did sub 1/4 c of bread flour for wheat germ. Can't notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I’ve been looking for a good recipe for hamburger buns. This is it!! We love them. We used 1 ¾ cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups of all purpose flour (didn’t have bread flour). My husband is learning to bake since he retired and he is so pleased with the results of this recipe that he brags to everyone that will listen. He has made these rolls twice now, and they turn out great each time. The first time we had them with Pulled BBQ Chicken. It was wonderful. The second time we had hamburgers. I’ll never buy hamburger buns again. It makes eleven 4 inch rolls. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are so easy and so good! Shaped them as hoagie rolls for meatball sandwiches. They came out soft and tasty and held up well even with the meatballs and sauce. These would be great as hot dog or hamburger buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Made these into caramel sticky buns and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Coons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States