Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are a really good, all purpose picnic/dinner roll. Much better than store bought and much less $$... I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid mixer and doubled the recipe. For those who are first time bakers, if it is a humid day you may need to add more flour to knead the dough properly and get it where it is supposed to be. I have found this to be true of any flour based recipe. In Wintertime, when the air is dry, versus in the Spring or Summer when it is humid, flour based recipes like bread, rolls and cakes behave differently based on humidity. 5 stars for the first batch- I have 4 more batches to make and bake and freeze before our son's graduation~ Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Simple recipe - great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Easy the family loved them, these went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These taste wonderful with a nice honey taste. I cut my dough with a wide mouth mason jar which is nice if you want buns but too small for a nice sandwich bun. These will be a staple for our house. I did sub 1/4 c of bread flour for wheat germ. Can't notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I’ve been looking for a good recipe for hamburger buns. This is it!! We love them. We used 1 ¾ cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups of all purpose flour (didn’t have bread flour). My husband is learning to bake since he retired and he is so pleased with the results of this recipe that he brags to everyone that will listen. He has made these rolls twice now, and they turn out great each time. The first time we had them with Pulled BBQ Chicken. It was wonderful. The second time we had hamburgers. I’ll never buy hamburger buns again. It makes eleven 4 inch rolls. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are so easy and so good! Shaped them as hoagie rolls for meatball sandwiches. They came out soft and tasty and held up well even with the meatballs and sauce. These would be great as hot dog or hamburger buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Made these into caramel sticky buns and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Coons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast (I used a whole packet of yeast which is 2 1/4 tsp.) in the mixer bowl with the honey and warm milk for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added the egg, melted butter, then the dry ingredients. I did use 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 3/4 cup organic whole wheat white flour. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes (I did have to add two tablespoons more flour to get it into a ball and be able to be kneaded with the hook). I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls (dinner rolls instead of sandwich rolls) and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. These rolls were really very good! I had one right out of the oven spread with butter and it was just heaven. Very good rolls! We didn't quite get them all eaten tonight at dinner (this recipe made 11 rolls) but I did cut the rolls into thick chunks and used them in a breakfast strata in the morning. NOTE: I will say that I did not get 24 rolls out of this recipe, I got 12. That was fine for me because that was all I needed. For someone else who wants a recipe that make a larger quanitity, be sure to double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good flavour and easy to make! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family loves these rolls! We dont eat them as sandwiches though, just butter 'em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States