Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I made these as dinner rolls for Thanksgiving, and they were a big hit. They were very soft and the taste was excellent, my son usually turns his nose up at anything with whole wheat in it, but he sure ate these! I have another batch in the bread machine now that I will try as sandwich rolls. Thanks for the great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
My daughter loved these buns instead of bread for her lunchbox sandwiches!! I made a few batches to put in the freezer so everone could just help themselves. I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I just used white. Instead of lightly greasing the pan I sprinkled cornmeal on the pan. Thank you for a great addition to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I loved this recipe!! Great flavor and texture. My husband asked that I not buy buns at the bakery anymore as these were superior. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. JO39
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
These are now my favorite rolls...they are SOOOO GOOD. I didn't roll or cut them out. I made 16 hand shaped rolls. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Awesome recipe! These taste just like the refined version of yeast rolls found in restaurants. I crave these! The dough is super easy to work with too. I didn't roll them out, just pinched and formed into rolls. Serve with honey butter and use the leftovers for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe has earned a permanent spot in my recipe file! Delicious and versatile--I've rolled and cut them, made them into dinner rolls, or shaped them into hoagie buns. I wanted mine wheatier, so I make them with 3 C. whole wheat flour and 1 C. white flour. I also increased the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp to make up for the heavier wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Super recipe! The rolls come out perfect. I even cut them into shapes for the kids (stars and hearts). I don't add the extra butter on top after baking, and I still love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Oooh, these were really good. We especially liked them with Barbequed Pork Done Two Ways, from this site as well. Delicious. My kids ask for these just to eat, skipping any sandwich filling. Great Recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
These are DELICIOUS rolls!! My husband & I thought they were restaurant quality! I made some shredded barbecue beef & used the rolls to make BBQ sandwiches. Yum! Will keep this recipe close by & use again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
The honey keeps these rolls moist, plus I like the added benefits of whole wheat flour. I did'nt roll the dough, I simply formed into buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States