Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I'd agree w/ everyone else - wonderful rolls! That said, I made some adjustments based on ingredients I had available. I had a scant 1/3 cup WW flour, so I used that, plus I ground up about 1/3 cup flax seeds, and 1 3/4 cup oats (ground) - to equal about 1 3/4 cup whole grain, and then I decreased the white flour to 2 cups. Or thereabouts. It worked, they're delicious! That's the fun thing about cooking - you can play with these recipes and take advantage of ingredients you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These are so good! They have more of a dinner roll sweetness to them, but I have used them for sandwiches and burgers with no complaints. I will definitely be trying this recipe as a loaf, per another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Very good hamburger buns! My 3-year-old granddaughter loved them. I did NOT roll the dough out. Instead I formed the dough into 12 buns and placed them on a cookie sheet to rise. They were a good size for a double patty burger and held up very well with burger toppings. We will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made these for hamburger buns last night... Holy cow, incredible taste and texture to this bread!!! I wasn't crazy about it as buns, but will definitely be on the menu for dinner rolls!!! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Superior flavor and very easy. I don't like bread machines so I adapted the directions for a stand mixer and more traditional method still using the same ingredients, per directions below, and it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very tasty bun. On the denser side but will make again to see if I can get it fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
We have a new favorite in our household!! I followed the recipe exactly except for not warming the milk since my bread machine does that for me. I took another reviewer's suggestion and cut out the rolls using a wide-mouth canning jar which was the perfect size. Absolutely wonderful and a great base for experimenting with adding garlic, herbs, etc. Next time I will adjust the white-to-wheat flour to increase the wheat flour content and see how that goes. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Absolutely AMAZING rolls! I made exactly as instructed in my bread maker (putting in wet ingredients first--milk, butter, egg, honey--then the salt, flour and yeast on top). Brushed lightly with butter once out of the oven. So good, soft, and delicious. Will definitely be making these again. UPDATE: Just made this recipe into 2 loaves of bread - baked at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes and was perfect. Note: I did mix the dough in bread machine, then formed into 2 loaves and let rise another 2-3 hours. These loaves are light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was perfect for what I was looking for- a wholesome, soft roll to use as both a bun and for sandwiches. My only deviation from the recipe was that I used an entire packet of active dry yeast (1/4 oz) and I divided the dough into 12 balls instead of cutting 14 biscuits. 10 minutes in the oven was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I can't go back to store bought buns anymore. These are too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States