Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I'm a newbie at yeast, but these turned out great! I made rolls, twice, to rave reviews. Tonight, I'm making buns. Don't have a bread machine, so I used my upright mixer. Angie G. has good suggestions for this. I didn't change a thing (except used AP flour) but can't imagine how one would improve on the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These were very good! I have a bit of experience with yeast, but it's been awhile. I made these as rolls for a dinner party, and they were light in texture and delicious. I used my stand mixer with two packets of regular yeast and AP flour instead of bread flour. I proofed the yeast in the warm milk, then added the butter and egg, then added the combined dry ingredients to the mixer bowl, one heaping tablespoon at a time. After one rise, I formed into informal balls and placed in greased muffin tins. Since they were risen well before dinner, I partially baked until some structure developed, then interrupted the baking. I finished them later with my convection oven. Nice, tender rolls with a good crust. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I just made this last night as a loaf of bread and I can't wait to try it as buns. It is fantastic! As one of my children has a milk allergy I used Soy Milk instead of milk and margarine instead of butter and it turned out great. Will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
very good deal recipe!! made the rolls smaller for dinner rolls and added some garlic powder and oregano and parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I never expected the wonderful taste and texture of these rolls. I put a pan of water in the oven while baking to keep the crust tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Good recipe. I used my KA and proofed the yeast first. It was a chore to roll out the dough---it kept bouncing back but I managed to get it close to a thickness that worked for hamburger buns. I got 4 large buns, 2 smaller ones and 2 small loaves of bread. The buns look professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used my bread machine to make the dough and it came out beautifully. I then baked it as per the directions, making big and small rolls. Absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I make these all of the time by hand. I use them for burgers and barbecue, I stuff them with pepperoni and cheese, I make loaves of bread - truly a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalieann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fantastic recipe with a permanent spot in my recipe box. I make these every week or so as sandwich buns for the boyfriend. I use 100% whole wheat flour and a couple tbsp of vital wheat gluten as well. I also add in some flax seed for the extra health kick and some rosemary to flavour it up. I think the rosemary definitely adds something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I like this recipe. I do not own a bread machine, so I mixed the ingredients using a kitchenaide mixer with dough hook. I allowed it to rise until doubled in size, deflated and then rolled it out about 1/2-3/4 inch thick. I used a biscuit cutter to make the rounds and allowed them to rise, then baked as directed. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States