Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a delicious recipe, it is great for any purpose. If you are not using a bread machine, proof the yeast in the warm mil for about 10 minutes and then add the butter, egg and honey. Mix the wet ingredients then add the dry ingredients. I kneaded the dough with my stand mixer for about 5-7 minutes. I use my oven as a proof box by preheating it to 200 with a pan of water on the bottom rack and then turning it off and placing the dough in a greased, glass bowl, turn the dough over so the top is greased, cover with a clean, smooth fabric kitchen towel and let proof for about an hour. punch the dough down and shape into either loafs or rolls and place back in the oven to proof for another hour before baking. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made these for dinner tonight. I didn't have bread flour so I subbed AP and vital wheat gluten. Instead of rolling and cutting with a biscuit cutter, I pinched off the dough, rolled it into a ball then flattened to 3/4 inch. They turned out light and fluffy. DD said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent! I don't know if I'll ever buy store rolls again. I used some and froze some to see how they turn out after being frozen. NExt time I may try to add more whole wheat flour to make them a little more healthier. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carmel, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The first time I made these rolls my husband's friend came over for dinner ... he ate 10 rolls. Simple and tasty, I always have the ingredients on hand. With the bread machine doing the heavy-lifting part, I can spend my time focusing on making the meal and know my bread will come out perfect. This recipe has become a permanent staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was very good bread, but I found it to be a little heavy coming out of our bread machine. We made it as a full loaf as opposed to rolls. I would make it again and play with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These are the best rolls ever, no changes, i was really sad yesterday cause i baked some rolls and they came out REALLY hard!!! lol, and i never thought i was gonna try to make rolls again, but i decided to make these one because they sounded easy and given the reviews i had to try them...They are wonderful. Thank you for changing my mind about making rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megandme
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I added 1/8 molasses and used all fresh ground hard white wheat. YUM! Added oatmeal to the top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These have a delicious taste and texture, and I will be making them again. I made these according to the directions of cutting with a biscuit cutter, and made a small loaf with some leftover. I won't be cutting them out again, they are too small this way and more like dinner rolls. The brushing of melted butter works for dinner rolls version, but I won't use for sandwich rolls - too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These tasted fabulous! Exactly what they claim to be. I didn't brush with butter. They froze great. I will definitely keep this as a go-to sandwhich roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Got a bread machine as a gift 12 years ago but never used it. Got tired of the grocery running out of the rolls I like so I came here to find a good recipe and this was rated best and liked what I saw in the reviews. So far I've made them 3 times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and loved them. The second and third times I tried them with sauted onions and then sauted garlic and loved them too. No more rolls from the grocery for me. Hint. I like sloppy joes except they're so sloppy so I came up with a solution. Don't slice the rolls all the way through, slice into them through only one side and with a spoon press the insides. Then fill with the sloppy joe meat. No more mess. Not bad for a bachelor. Now if only I could find a girl that can cook as well as I do. They love how well I cook but are also intimidated by it. They feel like I don't need them. Well, I guess it depends on what your'e talking about .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States