Honey Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
The recipe was great...I felt the muffins needed a little more something. I substitued cinnamon spice oatmeal for plain oatmeal and added a half a cup of walnuts. As a tip, don't heat the buttermilk too long, or the batter will be too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
These were a very pleasant surprise!A nice change from regular muffins! I used water and the powdered buttermilk powder with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I replaced 1/2 c. of wheat flour with wheat bran. I made mini-muffins out of this recipe and baked them for 25 minutes. They turned out great--not too sweet, but you can taste the honey. I'm happy to have something halfway nutritious to bring to my students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
These muffins were great! Not too sweet, but just right! :) Couldn't really taste the honey though. They were great warmed with a squirt or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
These muffins are great! Not sweet and have good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
After reading the reveiws I added one frozen (thawed) banana and twice the honey. I love the fact that they are not glorified cake but something with some real substance. The kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Light, not sweet. I added raisins. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
These muffins turned out great. I did add 2 extra tablespoons of honey, a teaspoon of cinnamon, and a 1/2 cup of chopped peacans. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My 3 year old daughter can not have wheat, dairy, eggs or sugar so I altered these slightly and she loves them (and so do I). They are very moist and tastey. Like others, I doubled the honey and oil. I used spelt flour 2/3 and rice flour 1/3 instead of wheat flour. I also used soy milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I added raisins as well and a bit a cinnimon. Oh and I also added about 3 tablespoons of ground flax to the oatmeal mixture. These are healthy and delicious. Thanks Joann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
For whole wheat muffins these are great. I did add twice the honey and a half cup of splenda with a cup of crasins but they really turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States