Honey Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I customized it by adding cranberries, sliced almonds and a little almond extract. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I fully expected these "healthy" muffins to taste awful & was pleasantly surprised when they didn't. I ate mine buttered, with honey on them & they were pretty good. Not as good as the muffins I usually make, but those are incredibly unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
These were great! I added a few tablespoons of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top while they baked -yum! They were a bit like ginger bread, but without the ginger. Really great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Not bad, a little bland. I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk and lemon juice and it seemed to work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
As written, the recipe is only medium. The muffins come out flat, and it needs a lot more flavor. I wonder if an egg might help give it more rise. I tried with 3 Tbs honey and 3 Tbs maple syrup, chopped pears, and walnuts, and a bit more oil. It was 4 stars that way, but still needs something. Maybe even more maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were disgusting!!! I won't be making these again. I add raisins and that did nothing to help them, I even made some honey butter and that did nothing. Thy had great texture but the flavor was horrid, it tasted like hay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These were pretty bland. Tasted pretty much like plain baked oatmeal. I added cinnamon and ginger but still they did not have much taste. Definitely couldn't taste the honey, so if I made these again I would double it. Lucky for me I love bland foods so I kinda like them, but you definitely couldn't serve them to anyone - they were pretty tasteless! The texture was good though and they smell delicious from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
As healthy as these muffins are, I was surprised at how good they were! I gave it 4 stars only because I read some reviews about how bland they were, and added 2 small chopped apples, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the batter. The muffins were very moist and tasty; but they still were missing something. Next time I make them, I will probably add a little more salt, to see if that will help. Thanks for a easy, healthy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was a great healty muffin based recipe. After reading the various commnets saying that it was bland by itself... I doubled the honey plus added raisins and pecans and chopped granny smith apples. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Not too great, even though I added the recommended extra honey and cinnamon. In fact, tasted like muffin-shaped oatmeal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States