Honey Wheat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Thanks so much for this recipe. I'm always looking for healthy cookie recipes for my 16 month old son. I added one very ripe banana and 1/4 to 1/2 cup oatmeal. I also substituted wheat germ for the bran. Very yummy. I made them for my boy, but I ended up eating them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very Yummy! I made them for my 4 yr old son and the other five children I take care of. They all gave these cookies a thumbs-up,even the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Like another user suggestion, I added oatmeal and substituted wheat germ for the wheat bran. I also substituted two bananas for the butter. These were good, but frankly, I think they could do with a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
My son loves these. I let him eat these for breakfast. My dad loves these. (He's diabetic). My friend who loves peanut butter loves these and asked for the recipe right away! I did add 1/2 c. oatmeal for the consistency and 1 banana for the yum factor. You cannot tell they're sugar free. You can't even really tell they're health-nut cookies b/c of the strong peanut butter taste/smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Excellent! I have been on a no sugar diet...after a month of no sugar these were nice and sweet. YUMMY! My children even loved them. They would be really good with some chocolate chips in them...semi-sweet...=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I think these are a very good, not-too-sweet cookie. I am trying new recipes to give to my toddler instead of the processed foods, and this was a favorite. I did make half a batch as directed, and then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and that made an incredible difference. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Excellent! I substituted applseauce for the butter to make them even more guilt free. I also added about 1/2 cup of crushed flake cereal (Total)plus a little coconut. I baked half the batch this way and they were great. Then for a treat added a handful of chocolate chips to the other half. Still good, but I liked them without the chocolate. Be careful, these don't keep too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good - I'd use a little less baking soda though. 1 T seemed a bit much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I loved these cookies! Per other suggestions, I used applesauce instead of butter but won't do that again since the batter was too runny & the cookies were too soft. I'll probably use 1/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup butter instead or just all butter. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran & added 1 banana to the batter & THAT made all the difference! I got a sweet, soft cookie with plenty of whole grains in it & because of natural sweetness of the banana. Next time I might try adding a few mini choc chips. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were so good! I did make a few changes, though: I omitted the milk powder, added a cup of oatmeal and 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 cup applesauce. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. And I used egg replacer instead of an egg. They are excellent, quite soft, and just the right amount of sweet. Actually, the next time I make them I think I'll leave out the brown sugar because I think they would be sweet enough without it. I would love to try them with some dried cherries and golden raisins, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States