Honey Wheat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Thanks so much for this recipe. I'm always looking for healthy cookie recipes for my 16 month old son. I added one very ripe banana and 1/4 to 1/2 cup oatmeal. I also substituted wheat germ for the bran. Very yummy. I made them for my boy, but I ended up eating them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very Yummy! I made them for my 4 yr old son and the other five children I take care of. They all gave these cookies a thumbs-up,even the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Like another user suggestion, I added oatmeal and substituted wheat germ for the wheat bran. I also substituted two bananas for the butter. These were good, but frankly, I think they could do with a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
My son loves these. I let him eat these for breakfast. My dad loves these. (He's diabetic). My friend who loves peanut butter loves these and asked for the recipe right away! I did add 1/2 c. oatmeal for the consistency and 1 banana for the yum factor. You cannot tell they're sugar free. You can't even really tell they're health-nut cookies b/c of the strong peanut butter taste/smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Excellent! I have been on a no sugar diet...after a month of no sugar these were nice and sweet. YUMMY! My children even loved them. They would be really good with some chocolate chips in them...semi-sweet...=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I think these are a very good, not-too-sweet cookie. I am trying new recipes to give to my toddler instead of the processed foods, and this was a favorite. I did make half a batch as directed, and then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and that made an incredible difference. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Excellent! I substituted applseauce for the butter to make them even more guilt free. I also added about 1/2 cup of crushed flake cereal (Total)plus a little coconut. I baked half the batch this way and they were great. Then for a treat added a handful of chocolate chips to the other half. Still good, but I liked them without the chocolate. Be careful, these don't keep too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good - I'd use a little less baking soda though. 1 T seemed a bit much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I loved these cookies! Per other suggestions, I used applesauce instead of butter but won't do that again since the batter was too runny & the cookies were too soft. I'll probably use 1/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup butter instead or just all butter. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran & added 1 banana to the batter & THAT made all the difference! I got a sweet, soft cookie with plenty of whole grains in it & because of natural sweetness of the banana. Next time I might try adding a few mini choc chips. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were so good! I did make a few changes, though: I omitted the milk powder, added a cup of oatmeal and 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 cup applesauce. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. And I used egg replacer instead of an egg. They are excellent, quite soft, and just the right amount of sweet. Actually, the next time I make them I think I'll leave out the brown sugar because I think they would be sweet enough without it. I would love to try them with some dried cherries and golden raisins, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States