Honey Wheat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
You can't beat the texture of these cookies. They're wonderfully soft and chewy. I even kept a few in the freezer and they were still soft when I took them out! I did, however, feel that they were lacking a little bit in flavor. They were plenty sweet, but they just seemed to lack something -- can't put my finger on it. I added 1/2 c oatmeal and 1/2 c dried cranberries(both of which helped create that great texture). I used wheat germ instead of bran and omitted the dry milk. Next time I may try adding a banana, some spices, and/or some coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Quick&healthy. I too like to use the germ instead of the bran. Perfect for after working out to replenish carbs and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Good recipe. I like that they are healthier than the average cookie and they taste good too. My 4 year old loved them. I too added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. I also added 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. Might try adding some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I really liked these, mainly for the fact that it's so good for you. I did add 1/2 oatmeal and a bananna, and used the wheat germ instead. Next time I'm gonna add just a little sugar if I want them more sweet, but I think you could eat these for breakfast really. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were so good! I did make a few changes, though: I omitted the milk powder, added a cup of oatmeal and 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 cup applesauce. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. And I used egg replacer instead of an egg. They are excellent, quite soft, and just the right amount of sweet. Actually, the next time I make them I think I'll leave out the brown sugar because I think they would be sweet enough without it. I would love to try them with some dried cherries and golden raisins, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I loved these cookies! Per other suggestions, I used applesauce instead of butter but won't do that again since the batter was too runny & the cookies were too soft. I'll probably use 1/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup butter instead or just all butter. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran & added 1 banana to the batter & THAT made all the difference! I got a sweet, soft cookie with plenty of whole grains in it & because of natural sweetness of the banana. Next time I might try adding a few mini choc chips. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good - I'd use a little less baking soda though. 1 T seemed a bit much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Excellent! I substituted applseauce for the butter to make them even more guilt free. I also added about 1/2 cup of crushed flake cereal (Total)plus a little coconut. I baked half the batch this way and they were great. Then for a treat added a handful of chocolate chips to the other half. Still good, but I liked them without the chocolate. Be careful, these don't keep too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I think these are a very good, not-too-sweet cookie. I am trying new recipes to give to my toddler instead of the processed foods, and this was a favorite. I did make half a batch as directed, and then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and that made an incredible difference. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Excellent! I have been on a no sugar diet...after a month of no sugar these were nice and sweet. YUMMY! My children even loved them. They would be really good with some chocolate chips in them...semi-sweet...=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States