Honey Wheat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
You can't beat the texture of these cookies. They're wonderfully soft and chewy. I even kept a few in the freezer and they were still soft when I took them out! I did, however, feel that they were lacking a little bit in flavor. They were plenty sweet, but they just seemed to lack something -- can't put my finger on it. I added 1/2 c oatmeal and 1/2 c dried cranberries(both of which helped create that great texture). I used wheat germ instead of bran and omitted the dry milk. Next time I may try adding a banana, some spices, and/or some coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Quick&healthy. I too like to use the germ instead of the bran. Perfect for after working out to replenish carbs and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Good recipe. I like that they are healthier than the average cookie and they taste good too. My 4 year old loved them. I too added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. I also added 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. Might try adding some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I really liked these, mainly for the fact that it's so good for you. I did add 1/2 oatmeal and a bananna, and used the wheat germ instead. Next time I'm gonna add just a little sugar if I want them more sweet, but I think you could eat these for breakfast really. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were so good! I did make a few changes, though: I omitted the milk powder, added a cup of oatmeal and 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 cup applesauce. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. And I used egg replacer instead of an egg. They are excellent, quite soft, and just the right amount of sweet. Actually, the next time I make them I think I'll leave out the brown sugar because I think they would be sweet enough without it. I would love to try them with some dried cherries and golden raisins, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I loved these cookies! Per other suggestions, I used applesauce instead of butter but won't do that again since the batter was too runny & the cookies were too soft. I'll probably use 1/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup butter instead or just all butter. I used wheat germ instead of wheat bran & added 1 banana to the batter & THAT made all the difference! I got a sweet, soft cookie with plenty of whole grains in it & because of natural sweetness of the banana. Next time I might try adding a few mini choc chips. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good - I'd use a little less baking soda though. 1 T seemed a bit much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Excellent! I substituted applseauce for the butter to make them even more guilt free. I also added about 1/2 cup of crushed flake cereal (Total)plus a little coconut. I baked half the batch this way and they were great. Then for a treat added a handful of chocolate chips to the other half. Still good, but I liked them without the chocolate. Be careful, these don't keep too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I think these are a very good, not-too-sweet cookie. I am trying new recipes to give to my toddler instead of the processed foods, and this was a favorite. I did make half a batch as directed, and then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and that made an incredible difference. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Excellent! I have been on a no sugar diet...after a month of no sugar these were nice and sweet. YUMMY! My children even loved them. They would be really good with some chocolate chips in them...semi-sweet...=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States