Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is a staple in our house. Thanks to some of the reviews I realized I had been putting too much white flour into it. Made some the correct way yesterday and it's even better. My family loves it! I only use about 4.5C of white flour, and I measure the weight of the flour out on a mail scale (4.5oz per cup). Otherwise I follow the recipe to the tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr.Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Awesome bread and easy to make! Second loaf I ever made in my life and it was amazing, will never buy bread again! Would like a Kitchen-Aide Mixer for Christmas! But its fun making it by hand too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr.Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I asked my grandma what her wheat bread recipe was, since it tasted delicious. Her recipe was complicated, but it included honey instead of sugar, and wheat, so I thought this recipe would be a good fit. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was OK. The bread is shaped like a rectangle (completely fat on top) and it was pretty dense. It tastes OK, but doesn't have much flavor. I realize that wheat take time to rise, or sometimes doesn't rise at all, and maybe that was part of my problem. Also, I live in a high altitude, so that may may a difference. Overall....it was just....OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This has become our daily loaf! Very simple recipe that you can adjust to your liking but is perfect the way it is. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Are you kidding me!?! This is the best bread I have ever eaten. Honestly, it doesn't matter what kind of sandwich I make, it's a 1000 times better than before. I pretty much followed the recipe as written, with the exception of adding one packet of Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal, as one other review suggested. I used to buy rolls from a local bakery to use for sandwiches...not any more! To make sure my 1st loaves were done, I checked their internal temperature. When they reached 190 degrees I pulled them out of the oven. They were perfect. This is now my go-to recipe for daily bread and I can't wait to experiment with different flavors of oatmeal. Yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Easy, simple, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I am a newbie with bread and followed the directions except for substituting a cup of white wheat flour for one of the all-purpose to give it more gluten content and had trouble getting the bread to rise. The loaves still came out very soft and tasty though. Next time I will add more water. The protein level in the flour is very high, which means it will absorb more liquid, so according to King Arthur flour, you should add two teaspoons extra liquid per cup of flour to the recipe you are using. So just a bit more water and a warmer place to rest and rise should do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I make this bread often for my family. We love it. It's so simple to make, is economical and the dough is so easy to work with, I do cut the recipe in half because there's no way we'd be able to eat 2 loaves of bread before they go bad. I use one packet of yeast and use a 1/2 cup of honey. The best part is that it calls for no eggs, milk or butter so it's truly economical for those looking for an affordable bread recipe. The bread comes out so soft and sweet. This is one of my favorite bread recipes on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was amazing! The little bit of honey was just enough to be great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Success! I had no problems making this recipe, and I have a tough time getting even pizza dough to rise! Needless to say, I was going in with lower expectations. Dough doubled nicely, and I took the suggestion of the baker who used the microwave and a bowl of hot water as a proofing box of sorts. Baked for 30 minutes, and the result was a light, soft loaf with good crumb. I also doubled the honey, then added 3 TB of granulated sugar for good measure because I prefer a sweeter bread. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States