Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
1st time was a flop but my husband was really the one that kneaded and did the rising and loaf shaping so I can't give the recipe fault for that. 2nd time I followed the recipe exactly and used my kitchen aid with the dough hook then kneaded the last minute by hand to get the dough smooth. I wend to www.baking911.com and read up on bread making which helped give me more insight on the specific steps of bread making. Very tasty - the whole family likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving get-together with friends. This bread came out absolutely amazing! I doubled the honey, changed the vegetable oil to extra-virgin olive oil, and used 100% unbleached whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose and whole wheat mix. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I can't wait to get a bread machine so I can make this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honey1223
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
came out perfect! i used kitchen aid stand mixer instead of hand.after mixing the whole thing i leave it in the mixer bowl and cover a plastic for 20 mnts . then put the salt and mix it again on speed 2 for 3 mnts,then took it out shape it in circle and place it in the sprayed glass bowl, and let it rise for 50-60 mnts. then take it out cut it into 2 ,shape it like a loaf and place it in the loaf pan cover w/ plastic again and let it rise one more time for 30 mnts..then your ready to bake it! i baked it for 25 mnts only..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honey1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We let the dough rise once and used it as pizza dough. It makes the best pizza crust we have ever had! 12 serving recipe makes 2 pizza crusts. We will never make a different pizza crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm really indecisive so when I read all the suggestions in the reviews I didn't know which one to pick! So I ended up baking the bread exactly as it was on the recipe and it turned out wonderful. I like it so much I can eat this bread plain! The honey gives it a very subtle sweetness which is great. The only problem I had was incorporating all 5 cups of all-purpose flour into the dough. I stopped at 4 1/2 cups because the dough didn't seem to be "absorbing" any more flour. For those who ended up with a stiff dough, I think it's probably because they grew impatient and started added lots of flour instead of doing it gradually. The total bake time for my two loaves was 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is a really good wheat bread. I added extra honey which made it sweeter, but also made it not as good for sandwiches. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I loved the taste of this bread and how extremely easy it was to make. I used a bread machine to make the dough, and a very powerful local, raw wildflower honey. I burnt my first batch of buns, but my loaf came out fantastic. I used milk to brush the tops. Thanks for this awesome recipe that is now a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadHeadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is a great! I have made it about 15 times now and we love it. Will never buy store bought bread again. Even my husband said so! To health it up a bit more, I have been using 5 cups whole wheat to 2 cups white. I just use two packs of yeast instead of 1 and I replaced the oil with 1/2 cup of natural apple sauce. I also add more honey, about 2/3 cups because we like it sweeter and a pinch more of salt. I also mix the salt into the whole wheat flour instead of the yeast/water/honey mixture. I found my rise is better this way. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
this was my first try at making bread and it went perfect. it was so easy it was scary. i have 5 people in my family and it suited everyones tastes and we age from 2 yrs to 26 yrs. thanks for the easy basic recipe. i can't wait to experiment with add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I am a first time bread maker. We chose to do this because of all the junk in store bought bread. I have made this recipe 4 times now and each time it gets a little better and a little easier. The first time I added 3 c wheat flr and 4c white flr. It was like kneading a rock! It was good for toast. Now I add 2 c wheat and 4 cup white knowing I add more white flr. as a knead it. The family likes it and I freeze the other loaf until we need it. Because there are no preservatives the bread tends to dry out in less than a week,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States