Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Easy. Came out great. Although next time I will be adding more honey and maybe a bit more salt. It's got a great texture, heavy duty enough for sandwich bread without being a chore to chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raechel Valerius
Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is yummy! I did make some changes by adding 1 t wheat gluten and adding 4 C wheat flour and 2 1/2 c white flour. We had this bread with our BLT's tonight. A tip I learned on you tube is to not knead the bread with more flour it makes it more crumbly. I lightly oiled the countertop and hands and had no issues of sticking. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe to start off with, though I join most of the group with making slight changes. I added 2 tbs of vital wheat gluten and used bread flour instead of all-purpose. You don't need 5 cups of flour either. I used about 2 1/2 - 3 cups of bread flour. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable. Lastly, I upped the salt by half a tsp. I had to let it raise for an hour for both raises. Last time I baked this I made 1 loaf of fantastic sandwich bread and a dozen rolls. Brushed butter and honey on top of the rolls right out of the oven! SO good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This has become one of my favorite bread recipes, and I make it all the time! It's easy and delicious, and I don't change anything about it. I do need much longer rising time than the recipe calls for, and sometimes let the bread rise as long as two hours. Sometimes to speed up the process I turn the oven on its keep warm setting, and set the dough on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday evening, let cool overnight with the intent of tasting this morning. Everything went swimmingly and the bread looked great, but it is more tasteless than Wonder Bread. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I loved the taste, so good and soft and fresh. Except, I must have done something wrong, tought I followed the directions exactly. The first four slices were great. Once i got closer to the middle,it had a big raw patch, with the center itself being totally raw. I dont know what i did wrong, but I was very disapointed because I thought they were perfect, ugh. Not sure how to avoid this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'm new to breadmaking. I've tried several recipes this summer and so far this is the only one I've been successful with. It's simple, healthy, & tastes great! The only slight change I made is 3 cups total whole wheat flour and the rest bread flour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
In a word: Amazing! The loaves were coming out of the oven just as my husband was coming in the door. The aroma brought the teenager out of her cave. 3/4 of the first loaf is gone. I typical freeze the second loaf but this bread doesn't stand a chance! If my husband, the non bread eater, who especially dislikes anything healthy, asks for second and thirds, the recipe is a keeper! For the Kitchen Aide users: I used stir to mix in the (1/2 cup) honey and oil. Speed 2 for the rest of the mixing/ kneading. Start to finish was approximately 8 minutes. Of course I didn't put 5 cups of white flour in it. The KA instructions specifically limit the amount you can safely use. So...I ended up with somewhere around 4 cups. The dough was half on, half off the dough hook. KA instructions for wheat bread advises that this is common and to look for a certain stickiness or tackiness. I baked it for 30 minutes. Brushed the tops with butter and let it sit in the glass pans for approximately 2 minutes before I released them to the cooling racks. The bread has a wonderful texture and crumb consistency. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
First time ever making wheat bread! This is a definite keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this twice- the first time, it didn't rise. Second time it did, and I added a bit more honey as others suggested. I thought it turned out very dense and very bland. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States