Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this 2 weeks' ago but forgot to rate it. I also increased honey to 1/2 cup and increased salt to 1 1/2 tsp as per comments by others. Being a 1st timer in bread making, I somehow ended up in using more than 5 cups of flour to knead dough in order that it no longer sticks. Despite my inexperience, bread still came out nice and yummy, though not as fluffy as I had used more flour than called for when kneading the dough. Good simple and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This came out amazing! I also substituted a cup of wheat flour for one cup of the white and it came out with the great bread texture. I used 1/4 c honey and 1/4 c agave nectar and it still was perfect. I am making it again this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Perfect sandwich bread. Like others, I doubled the honey and the flavor in the finished product was still mild. I also used an egg wash to get a more golden crust. When I needed croutons I cubed some of this bread and it worked perfectly and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NineDays

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This. Bread. Is. Great. I am a homeschooled high school student, so I have a very busy schedule. I bake this bread in the morning, and let it rise until noon--it works out great and lets me get some school done. I added about 1/2 cup more honey than the recipe said, since it tasted too "wheaty" to my elementary school aged siblings. I also added 2 teaspoons of salt to slow the yeast down and make the bread rise slower so I could do other things. My family loves it fresh out of the oven for deli sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought this bread was very good overall. It has a nice flavor and is simple to put together. I do feel like it's missing something though. I just recently tweaked it a bit, I increased the honey to 1/2 cup and replaced the oil with unsalted butter. It came out fabulous with a softer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very good wheat bread. Easy to make. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
nice taste and texture and easy to make. kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good wheat bread recipe. I halved the recipe and changed only the amounts of each flour. 1/12 cups wheat and 2 cups white. I think I will add more honey next time as it really didn't have much of a flavor, it had a fresh taste though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This recipe incredible. First started making this 5 or 6 years ago and then stopped making homemade bread. Once I got married I found myself pulling out this old well worn recipe and family loves it! Since I originally did this, I substitute the all purpose flour with bread flour and use extra virgin olive oil in place of vegetable oil. The difference in the rise is phenomenal! I give loaves to friends and family and they love to toast it and add butter and honey as toppings. Between this one and others found at this site, I don't buy bread in the store anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Marie Brown
Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It was very dry and crumbly. Even when I made it the second time around instead of kneading the dough with my hands I did it in the bread machine and it still came out bad. I don't know if I did any thing wrong, but I do know that I won't be making this bread ever again. It needs something to hold it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States