Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is a really good wheat bread. I added extra honey which made it sweeter, but also made it not as good for sandwiches. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I loved the taste of this bread and how extremely easy it was to make. I used a bread machine to make the dough, and a very powerful local, raw wildflower honey. I burnt my first batch of buns, but my loaf came out fantastic. I used milk to brush the tops. Thanks for this awesome recipe that is now a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadHeadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is a great! I have made it about 15 times now and we love it. Will never buy store bought bread again. Even my husband said so! To health it up a bit more, I have been using 5 cups whole wheat to 2 cups white. I just use two packs of yeast instead of 1 and I replaced the oil with 1/2 cup of natural apple sauce. I also add more honey, about 2/3 cups because we like it sweeter and a pinch more of salt. I also mix the salt into the whole wheat flour instead of the yeast/water/honey mixture. I found my rise is better this way. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
this was my first try at making bread and it went perfect. it was so easy it was scary. i have 5 people in my family and it suited everyones tastes and we age from 2 yrs to 26 yrs. thanks for the easy basic recipe. i can't wait to experiment with add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I am a first time bread maker. We chose to do this because of all the junk in store bought bread. I have made this recipe 4 times now and each time it gets a little better and a little easier. The first time I added 3 c wheat flr and 4c white flr. It was like kneading a rock! It was good for toast. Now I add 2 c wheat and 4 cup white knowing I add more white flr. as a knead it. The family likes it and I freeze the other loaf until we need it. Because there are no preservatives the bread tends to dry out in less than a week,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Awesome - this has some real flavor, and rises really well! This is the bread I have been looking for with all the recipes I have tried! Do not add extra honey it is great the way it is unless you want a desert bread. If you want a more nutty/robust flavor go with 2 cups wheat, 1 cup flax, and 3.5 cups of all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
We loved this bread! I put a 1/2 cup honey like someone suggested and it was great. But if you are going to use for meat sandwiches or garlic bread...I suggest sticking with less honet. STILL GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I'm horrible at making bread but this was easy and the bread turned out great. Instead of making a loaf of bread I made dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great bread! I made the dough in my bread machine and then baked it in the oven so it would have a more natural shape. Light, fluffy and tasty!. My 3 year old especially enjoyed it as toast for breakfast. If I were to make it for sandwiches, I would probably cut down the honey by a little bit. It was a little more sweet than I expected. Thanks for the recipe. We will make it again soon. One other thing, the fact it did not include eggs is a huge plus for our family as my son is allergic to them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Honestly, the loaves turned out beautiful...they looked like they would taste GREAT! Great texture and everything. BUT- I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and the bread was so BLAND. I added a little more honey though, and even this didn't help. I think it probably needs more salt..and definitely less flour. It tasted very very floury. I'll be trying other recipes on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States