Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Don't let the ease of this recipe fool you - it's great! I used one less cup of flour and liked the moist texture. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Simple loaf made with on-hand staples everyone is sure to have. Has a great crumb and a very predictable behavior when rising. I make three of these loaves at a time to be efficient. One is sliced and the other two frozen until use. This bread has held up for a week bagged at room temp. This is definitely a staple in my home now. It makes awesome French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
WOW! This was excellent. Seriously, look no further if you would like a simple and delicious recipe. My girls loved it and I have picky eaters and my littlest has allergies so it was nice that this was egg and milk free. I noticed some people said they had a difficult time working all 7 cups of flour into the mix. First, you should be sure you are using a cup for measuring dry ingredients (not liquids!). Next if you are digging your cup into the flour you are doing it incorrectly! You should actually be using a scoop to sprinkle into the cup then level with a flat surface (like the back of a knife). This is crucial because digging into the flour with the cup may cause flour to get packed tightly (not what you want!) you will think you measured 7 cups and you really have 8 or 9! Hope that helps! If you get down to your last bit of flour and the dough seems a little dry don't be afraid to dampen your hands with a little water to work the last bit in, which is what I had to do. I thought the recipe was excellent and I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
We love it! I doubled the recipe and added an egg to each bowl of dough (I use two when doubling a recipe for convenience). It had a lovely, dense texture without being too thick. I find it crumbs better with the egg included. Made 2 loaves and a pan of dinner rolls plus a braided loaf as well. I did an egg wash on the braid and rolls and sprinkled it with oats. Fantastic for bulk baking. Will try multi-grain with this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyricalMe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent for sandwiches - slices beautifully. Keeps very well when sealed in plastic as well - lasted us all week without getting stale. Also makes unbelievable toast with jam. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
1st time was a flop but my husband was really the one that kneaded and did the rising and loaf shaping so I can't give the recipe fault for that. 2nd time I followed the recipe exactly and used my kitchen aid with the dough hook then kneaded the last minute by hand to get the dough smooth. I wend to www.baking911.com and read up on bread making which helped give me more insight on the specific steps of bread making. Very tasty - the whole family likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving get-together with friends. This bread came out absolutely amazing! I doubled the honey, changed the vegetable oil to extra-virgin olive oil, and used 100% unbleached whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose and whole wheat mix. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I can't wait to get a bread machine so I can make this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honey1223
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
came out perfect! i used kitchen aid stand mixer instead of hand.after mixing the whole thing i leave it in the mixer bowl and cover a plastic for 20 mnts . then put the salt and mix it again on speed 2 for 3 mnts,then took it out shape it in circle and place it in the sprayed glass bowl, and let it rise for 50-60 mnts. then take it out cut it into 2 ,shape it like a loaf and place it in the loaf pan cover w/ plastic again and let it rise one more time for 30 mnts..then your ready to bake it! i baked it for 25 mnts only..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honey1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We let the dough rise once and used it as pizza dough. It makes the best pizza crust we have ever had! 12 serving recipe makes 2 pizza crusts. We will never make a different pizza crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm really indecisive so when I read all the suggestions in the reviews I didn't know which one to pick! So I ended up baking the bread exactly as it was on the recipe and it turned out wonderful. I like it so much I can eat this bread plain! The honey gives it a very subtle sweetness which is great. The only problem I had was incorporating all 5 cups of all-purpose flour into the dough. I stopped at 4 1/2 cups because the dough didn't seem to be "absorbing" any more flour. For those who ended up with a stiff dough, I think it's probably because they grew impatient and started added lots of flour instead of doing it gradually. The total bake time for my two loaves was 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States