Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I love this bread so much.I make it all the time,even i give it away as gifts.It is so easy to make.I wish I could rate it higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blue_eyed_baker
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This bread is delicious! I only used about 4 cups of the all purpose flour. I made half into a loaf and the other half into buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
At one time I baked quite a bit of bread, but circumstances made it more trouble than it was worth for a few years. I recently rededicated myself to bread making and this is the first recipe I tried. My yeast was almost 5 years old, but I proofed it and it seemed workable. I made only a couple of small changes, using 3 cups of WW flour and about 4 cups of AP, and I used about one half cup of honey. I put it in a warm oven to rise and it took over two hours to double in bulk. Was it the old yeast or the extra WW flour, I don't know. The second rise was also slow, over an hour. I baked the loaves about 30 minutes and they turned out beautifully and oh, so tasty. BTW, my KA mixer handled the kneading with no problem, about 7 minutes on speed 2. For my first bread effort in years, I couldn't be happier. Next time, I will make some small changes to personalize the bread, but this is an excellent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie Geer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I read all the reviews and decided to go with the recipe as written. It is very heavy and dense. I think I will try again and alter it with some of the reviewers suggestions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I tried this bread twice today and the first was a utter failure. 7 cups of flour was waaay to much. The second try, I opted for 3 cups of wheat flour and 4 cups of all purpose flour. I also used 1/2c of honey. After letting it rise the first time and splitting the dough, I noticed that it took way more time to rise than the first rise. I only gave it 3 stars because it took almost 4 hours to complete. I haven't tasted it yet, but this was my very first attempt at a yeast yielding bread. I have been making banana and banana nut bread which is quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaRhonda Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My husband and I decided to make this together. About the only thing we did correctly according to the recipe was the temp of the water. Seriously. I was reading the recipe and, like most men, he refused to listen to me. We halved everything except the honey which I wish we would have added even more. It was the first bread we've ever made and it was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe! The only things I changed was I used white wheat flour and 2 tablespoons of yeast and I sprinkled oats on top before baking. The flavor is delicious. The loaf came out slightly heavy though. I prefer it a little bit lighter, but it could have been something I did or the slight changes I made since I'm a novice bread maker still. I gave 5 stars because my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
A very easy recipe but VERY bland. I usually love multi grain bread but decided to try this recipe since it was homemade bread and I will not be trying again. Soo plain even with 1/2 cup of honey instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
There is way too much flour in this recipe. I couldn't even get all of it to mix with adding more water to the recipe. Also without letting the yeast sit for a few minutes it took almost 4 hours for it to rise. It baked nicely but even with using double the honey it tastes like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States