Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
OH MY... this produced an amazing couple of loaves of bread. Light, crispy outside with a fluffy inside. I used melted butter for the shortening. I doubled the yeast as per a few other reviewers. I needed to add 1/2 cup more flour. I used the dough hook on my mixer and kneaded the bread on level 2 for 10 minutes. I turned the oven to 200 degrees for a few minutes and let the dough rise in the oven with a damp tea towel over top. It took only about 20 minutes for the first rise and 20 minutes for the 2nd rise. Really, really good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maya
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
its an easy simple recipe didnt take much time i knead it by hand took 10 min and was wonderful just let your yeast for 10 minutes maybe more till you see the big foamy on the surface. so tasty and will do it again for sure :) p.s. i added 1/2 cup flour extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
very tasty and moist. it took a long time to rise but well worth the wait. definitely making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe as written. Best wheat bread I have made so far. It is soft and has a great texture. The dough was slow to rise, which may be because the house was a little cold. In the future, I will heat the milk to 110 degrees as well - I think that will help. I mixed and kneaded this by hand and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
A couple things I would like to say towards the negative posts: For one, if it isn't rising you need to (1)See if you are using QUICK or RAPID Rise Yeast as the recipe requested or just Active Dry. I use Active Dry...Give it some time. Patience is a virtue. (2) If it is "bland" to you, maybe try buying a loaf of honey wheat bread. My husband and I used to buy loafed honey wheat bread. It doesn't taste JUST LIKE HONEY but it has a sweet taste. This is much better tasting than store-bought. I add water and let mine rise extra long for those who say it is dense. I found it dense the first time I made it as well. A lot of things factor in here like what kind of flour you are using, how much water, bottled or highly chlorinated water, etc. Play with the recipe. That is what makes a wonderful cook :). Thank you, Kristin! I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this recipe on a whim because I was out of bread. I used 3C wheat and 2 1/2 C AP flour. It turned out great. After reading other reviews I proofed in a 175 degree oven for 1 hour. The second proof only took 30 min using the same method. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1/8 C more honey. I can't wait for my kids to try it in the morning. I will try it with bread flour next time to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETSY410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yum!!!!! This was so delish! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect! Best bread I have made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We do not buy bread anymore....this is the bread my family loves the best. I bet I make 4-6 loaves every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelbaCarter
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Simple. Made eight mini loaves. Delicious. Will try again, substituting molasses. I bet it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States