Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
******for people with convection ovens***** If you cook at the recommended 375 degrees it may get too brown on top and still doughy on bottom.....Best to cook at 350 for a longer cooking time!!! Would've given it 5 stars though if not for the high heat it recommends, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
It was moist and soft. It has a great taste and is got rave reviews especially fresh out of the oven. I did have to add more flour than called for to get the proper consistency. I used a kitchen aid mixer with dough hook, and it did not clean the sides of the bowl and form a ball until I added another half cup of flour. Other than that it was easy to follow if you are familiar with baking with yeast. I really liked the suggestion of putting a pan of water in the oven to keep it soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This turned out really well. I substituted butter for the shortening, added some salted pumpkin seeds, and opted for an egg wash on top before baking but buttered the top after it came out of the oven as well. Its the best whole wheat recipe that I've tried so far. Absolutely delicious, its fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great bread! Light and airy and tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
good, moist bread. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was the best bread i have ever had in my life! My husband ate most of it the same day and requested more within two days. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe. i will continue making it weekly, no more grocery store bread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Lovely tasting bread, light and delicious. I made the dough in the bread machine and the rising and baking, traditionally. I am happy it turned out well since baking anything correctly, eludes me. (I did use the "better for breads" flour. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasja1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used butter flavored shortening. I didn't quite have a full can of evaporated milk but was still OK. I would like a pinch more sweet and something to add on top for texture. I used a Kitchenaid mixer with the hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is the one recipe for bread that I constantly make. Two loaves are too much so I put one in freezer. Still cuts well and tastes great. I make two loaves almost every week. Its the only bread we use now for our sandwiches and well just with butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've used this twice in the past couple weeks and it's now my go-to recipe for bread. My only change was to use homemade grade B maple syrup instead of honey simply because I don't have honey on hand. I've given the second loaf away to friends and they are both clamoring for more. Absolutely delicious and the texture is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States