Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This bread was nice and soft and had good flavor. I put an egg wash on it before baking and left off the butter after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! Turned out perfect. I didn't have bread flour on hand, so I used all purpose flour. Also, no evaporated milk. I used what I had in the refrigerator. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Talk about heavenly bread! I read through numerous reviews as I like to read tips from others verses reviews that did not alter the recipe and the results of both. I incorporated certain revisions like adding ½ cup of honey and made sure that I used the rapid rise yeast and not the one that I use in my bread machine. Used my bread machine for the initial mixing, then unplugged it for the 15 minute wait time (I went by my bread machine directions of adding all liquid items first then the sugar (I used Splenda), flour then added the dry yeast. After the 15 minute wait, plugged the unit back in (dough setting was used) and proceeded to let it go the course which includes the initial rise of the bread. Punching and rolling out the dough thoroughly is essential otherwise you will have huge holes in your bread. Going by another reviewers tip, I checked the bread after 20 minutes and it did need the top to be covered with foil (was already browned enough). Covered the tops and continued baking for 10 additional minutes. I can taste a slight taste of honey but would have preferred a bit more. Still with some butter, this is the best wheat bread I have ever had and even the top is soft! Some say it’s just like store bought but I believe this to be far superior, store bread is gross which is why I never buy it. This will now be baked weekly and one loaf will be given to my mother on a weekly basis. 4 stars since I used 1/2 cup of honey & Splenda but it is five star taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made as directed and had no luck with this recipe. It turned out very heavy and not sweet at all. I was hoping for a tiny bit of honey taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is the easiest and wonderful tasting bread I have ever made. My wife thought I was a master chef when she tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is delicious, but I had to add another packet of yeast before it would rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I like to add extra honey and use less butter. This bread freezes really well. I like to make a few batches in advance, roll into a loaf after the first rise then freeze the dough. Then I can take out the dough and let it rise overnight and have fresh bread more often without all the work. Overall, this is excellent bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS! Did 1/2 sugar & 1/2 honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was good honey wheat bread, but I wish it would have had a more substantial crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had the same problem as someone else's review with the bread not rising and still doughy in the middle? Any suggestions for this problem. Right now it is only good to slather butter on and eat, I was hoping for good sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paddyrode

Displaying results 121-130 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States