Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I just started to bake bread from scratch, and this recipe is easy and yummy! It is very moist, and keeps well. I didnt have any shortening the first time I made it, so I substituted butter instead and it turned out great! I recommend this recipe over any of the other wheat bread recipes. I tried several before I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a great bread. Here are some tips that might help: As long as you knead this dough long enough (7 min or so,) and allow your yeast to proof till foamy, there's no reason not to use ALL WHOLE WHEAT flour rather than combining it with bread flour. And don't add extra flour prematurely -- the flour really works itself in the longer you knead and the stickiness goes away. I just let my KitchenAid do all the work (on low speed.) I didn't have to add gluten in order to get a light, fluffy, bakery quality bread. Using all WW flour makes the bread so much healthier! I allowed my bread to rise in an oven set to "warm" with the door open. Also, if you're not using pre-measured, enveloped yeast, .25 oz = 2 1/4 t yeast. I replaced the shortening with melted butter, but left off the 2T called for as a glaze (it really isn't needed.) One other suggestion - bake at 350 rather than 375; maybe my oven runs hot? Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
PERFECT! I have tried more recipes than I can count and I have FINALLY found a soft wheat bread that doesn't weigh a ton and instead is actually light and airy! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent....my family loved it. added extra honey and extra yeast and still took a long time to rise but worth the wait. cant wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serioussifl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This bread turned out wonderful! It is so moist! I substituted 2% milk for evaporated, and butter for shortening. I also added about 2 tablespoons of dark mollasses. Next time I will double the honey for a stronger flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This bread was nice and soft and had good flavor. I put an egg wash on it before baking and left off the butter after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! Turned out perfect. I didn't have bread flour on hand, so I used all purpose flour. Also, no evaporated milk. I used what I had in the refrigerator. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Talk about heavenly bread! I read through numerous reviews as I like to read tips from others verses reviews that did not alter the recipe and the results of both. I incorporated certain revisions like adding ½ cup of honey and made sure that I used the rapid rise yeast and not the one that I use in my bread machine. Used my bread machine for the initial mixing, then unplugged it for the 15 minute wait time (I went by my bread machine directions of adding all liquid items first then the sugar (I used Splenda), flour then added the dry yeast. After the 15 minute wait, plugged the unit back in (dough setting was used) and proceeded to let it go the course which includes the initial rise of the bread. Punching and rolling out the dough thoroughly is essential otherwise you will have huge holes in your bread. Going by another reviewers tip, I checked the bread after 20 minutes and it did need the top to be covered with foil (was already browned enough). Covered the tops and continued baking for 10 additional minutes. I can taste a slight taste of honey but would have preferred a bit more. Still with some butter, this is the best wheat bread I have ever had and even the top is soft! Some say it’s just like store bought but I believe this to be far superior, store bread is gross which is why I never buy it. This will now be baked weekly and one loaf will be given to my mother on a weekly basis. 4 stars since I used 1/2 cup of honey & Splenda but it is five star taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made as directed and had no luck with this recipe. It turned out very heavy and not sweet at all. I was hoping for a tiny bit of honey taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is the easiest and wonderful tasting bread I have ever made. My wife thought I was a master chef when she tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States