Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
makes a very heavy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Overall, pretty good, but I would recommend some changes. Add a few tablespoons of honey and use half the salt. The salt was totally overpowering and you could barely taste the honey. It was easy enough to make, though, and it works to substitute butter for the shortening and skim milk for the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lurel White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I've made this bread for my family every week for the past month. I make the whole loaf in my bread machine and it comes out PERFECT every time. I was a bit cautious about the amount of salt in the recipe, but 2 tsps is fine given the size of the loaf. First, I dissolve the yeast in the sugar/water mixture directly in my bread machine pan. Then I add the rest of the ingredients in the order listed in the recipe. All the ingredients fill my bread machine pan about 3/4 of the way, but that's fine. I pop the pan in the bread machine and set the machine on a whole wheat setting. About 5 hours later, I have SOFT, YUMMY honey wheat sandwich bread! It's so exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My first attempt ever at making bread. This was a snap. I pulled one loaf out a bit early, so it was doughy in the middle (we suffered through it). Otherwise, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This bread is delicious!!!!!!! I made it into two rounds instead of in loaf pans. It took a little longer to rise than what recipe said but well worth the wait!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I really liked this recipe! I made the dough in the bread maker by just putting in the order recommended by the machine. Then I took it out, separated it, placed it in the 2 loaf pans (I do like oven baked better than bread machine), let it rise for 1 hour, and then baked in the oven. It was fantastic with a great sandwich bread consistency for easy cutting and serving. The only change I made (besides prep) was that I did 3c ww flour, 2c b flour instead of vice versa as recommended and I added 2 T of wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's so yummy. It's easy. And from other reviews you can see how versatile it is; subst milk for evap milk, changing whole wheat to bread flour ratio, subst the type of flour you prefer, add more/less honey for your taste, etc. In two days, we've made four loaves and they don't last long. Today my kids, ages 8, 6, and 4 have asked for more bread. We had store bought in the pantry and no more homemade bread. When they saw what bread was left they asked for something else to eat. They didn't want store bought bread. And they usually will eat slices by itself. Also, my kids are not picky eaters. They try everything I give them - spinach to asparagus. For them to pass up store bought honey wheat bread - not generic, and totally choose something else to eat says something. Try this recipe. You're gonna love it. Helpful Info: .25 ounce rapid rise = 2-1/4 tsp yeast from jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will add more honey and yeast. I am an experienced baker and the dough took nearly 4 hours to rise. It's a keeper, but only with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I just started to bake bread from scratch, and this recipe is easy and yummy! It is very moist, and keeps well. I didnt have any shortening the first time I made it, so I substituted butter instead and it turned out great! I recommend this recipe over any of the other wheat bread recipes. I tried several before I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States