Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Wow! I see why everyone has rated this so highly. The dough goes together easily (I did it manually, using my Danish dough whisk). The only things I did different were to use regular yeast because that's what I always use, and I forgot to put the water bath in. The flavor is wonderful. My husband was also very impressed. This bread will be in my regular line-up of bread recipes. Thanks, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Awesome Sandwich Bread! I changed it a little- Used melted butter instead of shortening, added an extra cup of white flour, and doubled the honey quantity. I'm not an expert bread baker by any means, and this turned out perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Awesome bread recipe! The best bread I have made so far! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made without a bread machine and it is truly wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly at first and then subsequently I made the following procedural changes for ease of baking; these do not compromise the quality in the least, as far as I can tell. I put all the ingredients into a Kitchenaid Mixer with kneading hook (I do add the yeast [it doubles in size before I add it] after the other ingredients are mixed thoroughly). I cover the bowl with a damp towel and put in my oven that is preheated to warm (about 125F). I use a 20X22” (could be larger if I had one) cutting board (wood) lightly dusted with bread flour and a buttered rolling pin (non-stick finish). I roll out all the dough at one time (I don’t punch it down first) to fit the board. I use a pizza cutter wheel to cut the dough in half. Roll up each half and put into the buttered pans. Put both pans in the same warm oven with the damp towel on top. I preheat the second oven about 15 minutes before second rise is finished. I probably could shorten the amount of time for dough to rise because of the warm location, but I don’t mind waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe. The loaves were light with just enough sweetness. I read the earlier reviews and found that this did take much longer to rise than recipe indicates. It was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! I followed to a tee...texture like store bought bread! Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Followed this almost exactly - just added 1/4 cup more honey because I like it sweet. I should have omitted the 1/4 c water because of that... but I didn't and had to add more flour. It took a LONG time to knead in my Kitchen Aid (because I kept having to add more flour), and a long time to rise (in a warm oven). But it was worth it. I got one perfect sized loaf and a pan of rolls with perfect texture and taste. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LRobin58
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious, easy bread. I used traditional yeast and allowed my loaves to rise overnight. I also sprinkled flax seed on top which stuck nicely to the butter. Very good loaves, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRobin58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This bread was awesome! Mixed the ingredients in the bread machine first and baked in the oven. Turned out perfect! Even made some hamburger buns and they turned out great as well. Husband and my 2 year devoured one loaf in just 2 days! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Awesome...made my first loaves on Saturday and making two more right now. I may never buy grocery store bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States