Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
After reading most of these review, I knew I had to try this recipe. Oh, my! So Good! I am an experienced bread maker and have made some lovely loaves over the years, but this is the tastiest bread I have ever made. I have been looking for bread that has this flavor for a long time, and this is it! *Note, I put all the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then put in loaf pans and rise in the oven on my bread proof oven cycle. I also doubled up on the honey, which most people recommend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Wow- I can't believe it. This recipe is outstanding- you could open a bakery and be proud to serve this! I used the bread machine to mix it, but did the second rise and bake in a 9x5" loaf pan. Here are some changes I made- used only half the recipe, added 1 T extra of honey, and 2 1/2 T of vital wheat gluten. I poured water, yeast, sugar, milk and let the yeast proof. I added the rest and let the machine do the rest. My husband looked at it and went "Oh no- did you make this in the bread machine?" (we've had super doughy, heavy breads when I bake the bread in there), but he really loved it after he tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and it is phenomenal!! The loaf bakes up high and it is very soft and tasty. I have baked this as loaves as well as rolls and it was a hit both ways. Even my picky daughter who usually only eats white bread loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Wow! I see why everyone has rated this so highly. The dough goes together easily (I did it manually, using my Danish dough whisk). The only things I did different were to use regular yeast because that's what I always use, and I forgot to put the water bath in. The flavor is wonderful. My husband was also very impressed. This bread will be in my regular line-up of bread recipes. Thanks, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Awesome Sandwich Bread! I changed it a little- Used melted butter instead of shortening, added an extra cup of white flour, and doubled the honey quantity. I'm not an expert bread baker by any means, and this turned out perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Awesome bread recipe! The best bread I have made so far! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made without a bread machine and it is truly wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly at first and then subsequently I made the following procedural changes for ease of baking; these do not compromise the quality in the least, as far as I can tell. I put all the ingredients into a Kitchenaid Mixer with kneading hook (I do add the yeast [it doubles in size before I add it] after the other ingredients are mixed thoroughly). I cover the bowl with a damp towel and put in my oven that is preheated to warm (about 125F). I use a 20X22” (could be larger if I had one) cutting board (wood) lightly dusted with bread flour and a buttered rolling pin (non-stick finish). I roll out all the dough at one time (I don’t punch it down first) to fit the board. I use a pizza cutter wheel to cut the dough in half. Roll up each half and put into the buttered pans. Put both pans in the same warm oven with the damp towel on top. I preheat the second oven about 15 minutes before second rise is finished. I probably could shorten the amount of time for dough to rise because of the warm location, but I don’t mind waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe. The loaves were light with just enough sweetness. I read the earlier reviews and found that this did take much longer to rise than recipe indicates. It was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! I followed to a tee...texture like store bought bread! Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Followed this almost exactly - just added 1/4 cup more honey because I like it sweet. I should have omitted the 1/4 c water because of that... but I didn't and had to add more flour. It took a LONG time to knead in my Kitchen Aid (because I kept having to add more flour), and a long time to rise (in a warm oven). But it was worth it. I got one perfect sized loaf and a pan of rolls with perfect texture and taste. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States