Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Amazing bread!!!!!! Perfect consistency, taste and texture! I followed a previous comment that allowed for bread machine instructions but I used a half and half mixture instead of evaporated milk. Simply wonderful! I'm about to make my second loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Used olive oil instead of shortening. Did not add additional water. It was easy to make with a stand mixer. One question: when it says add "small pan of water"...how small and how much water? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this bread this morning, and it turned out fantastic! Very crusty outside, and nice and soft on the inside. This is going to be a regular in my house. One modification that I did: I did an egg wash, and then buttered it when it came out of the oven. Gave it a beautiful golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This gets 5+ stars from me. It's the best whole wheat bread I've ever made and I'll use this recipe again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! It is truly delicate and soft. My variation is to use olive oil in place of the shortening and all wheat flour. I usually need at least another 1/2 cup of flour to get the right texture. I have also added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner guests - and it was awesome! The smell, the texture and the slightly sweet taste are perfect. It didn't rise as much as I expected (maybe I didn't have my warm water temperature right). I also subbed 1 stick melted butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My changes : I used 1/8 coconut oil 1/8 real unsalted butter in place of the shortening and 3 cups wheat 2 cups of bread flour 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. I made this as the test loaves before using it for Christmas dinner. It was very soft and rich quite a bit different than my tired and true Betty Crocker honey whole wheat I have used for over 20 years. I am making more tomorrow for our meal I will use a full 1/4 cup of coconut oil instead of shortening and 4 cups of wheat flour and the full 2 teaspoons of salt. It was really yummy I am excited to try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
A good, reliable recipe. Nice and tender from the milk and subtle sweetness from the honey. I used a little more wheat flour than white flour for a darker loaf. I brushed with egg whites and sprinkled with whole flax seed for color and texture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My wife is an excellent cook. She protects her kitchen, like it's a Momma Only area. I applied for the appropriate pass and clearance to bake this bread and it paid off big time! We both love it! Momma said it has 'the YUM factor". That is truly high praise. If you're going to go through the time and effort to make bread, it has to be better than what you could simply go to the store and buy. This bread meets and exceeds that standard. There's nothing more wholesome and satisfying than home made bread. The aroma is wonderful and it's pretty to look at too! Oh, I didn't get a full time kitchen pass though. Momma says the bread is so good, that we both will grow to the size of a compact car if it's available all the time. But, she did ASK me to make more on Christmas Eve. She wants to serve it to family with Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
taste was good but underbaked, it is hard to tell when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States