Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Wonderful. Everyone loves it! I would like to find out to make it less crumbly however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
YUM! What a perfect wheat bread. I added more wheat flour and ground flax seed. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillmuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I have made this 3 times now. This has become my bread recipe. I do as other reviewers suggested and double the yeast, use butter instead of shortening, and use 1/3 cup honey rather than only 1/4 cup. I never have whole wheat flour so I use regular all purpose flour in place of wheat flour. Awesome bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious bread! I had to make a couple substitutions: fresh milk and general purpose flour, but the bread still turned out excellent (just took a bit longer to rise). This recipe also works well as free form artisan loafs baked on baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJN
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Bread was wonderful! very moist. I did use butter in place of the shortening. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is awesome bread. It's easy to make and taste great. Will be my main bread for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
So yummy makes really soft wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
OMG this was sooo good. I made 2 batches (4 loaves) last night and invited some friends over to try the bread and tell me if the recipe was a keeper. They all LOVED it 9and tried stealing my loaves!). My changes to recipe were I made it without bread pans, and baked them just on a cookie sheet in round, country style loafs. I also used salted butter instead of shortening, used 1/2 cup honey AND also made my own honey butter to baste (when it was done) and serve on the slices. It did take a REALLY long time to rise and double in size for both sets, but the end result was AWESOME. I will be making this weekly. No more store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreekMuse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This bread is delicious. I have made it a few times now and gotten the best results with these changes: I doubled the recipe, using 10 cups freshly milled flour, used 3 tsp yeast, buttter instead of shortening, skim milk instead of evaporated. I added a tsp of gluten, and added the salt during kneading. I also added flax seed & ground flax during kneading. This made two large loaves. I may not have baked it long enough (40 min), so may need to increase the baking time if I find it not done in the middle. Otherwise, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed the modified directions for the bread maker. It came out fabulous! I'm going to add sunflower seeds next time for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States