Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Love how the milk gives this bread a great texture, smell and taste! I tried to knead by hand because the full batch is a bit too much for my mixture, but the dough was quite sticky. I didn't work with it a lot but it rose beautifully and the texture of the final product didn't suffer. Next time I'll let the whole wheat flour sit for a little longer to develop the gluten more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
easy and tasty bread just what i need a real keeper recipe so thanks if you are having trouble getting to rise put a pan of boiling water in your oven and get oven to 110 degs as yeast dies at over 115 degs so thats it just trying to help those who have had trouble with recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Amazing bread!!!!!! Perfect consistency, taste and texture! I followed a previous comment that allowed for bread machine instructions but I used a half and half mixture instead of evaporated milk. Simply wonderful! I'm about to make my second loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Used olive oil instead of shortening. Did not add additional water. It was easy to make with a stand mixer. One question: when it says add "small pan of water"...how small and how much water? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this bread this morning, and it turned out fantastic! Very crusty outside, and nice and soft on the inside. This is going to be a regular in my house. One modification that I did: I did an egg wash, and then buttered it when it came out of the oven. Gave it a beautiful golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This gets 5+ stars from me. It's the best whole wheat bread I've ever made and I'll use this recipe again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! It is truly delicate and soft. My variation is to use olive oil in place of the shortening and all wheat flour. I usually need at least another 1/2 cup of flour to get the right texture. I have also added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner guests - and it was awesome! The smell, the texture and the slightly sweet taste are perfect. It didn't rise as much as I expected (maybe I didn't have my warm water temperature right). I also subbed 1 stick melted butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My changes : I used 1/8 coconut oil 1/8 real unsalted butter in place of the shortening and 3 cups wheat 2 cups of bread flour 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. I made this as the test loaves before using it for Christmas dinner. It was very soft and rich quite a bit different than my tired and true Betty Crocker honey whole wheat I have used for over 20 years. I am making more tomorrow for our meal I will use a full 1/4 cup of coconut oil instead of shortening and 4 cups of wheat flour and the full 2 teaspoons of salt. It was really yummy I am excited to try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
A good, reliable recipe. Nice and tender from the milk and subtle sweetness from the honey. I used a little more wheat flour than white flour for a darker loaf. I brushed with egg whites and sprinkled with whole flax seed for color and texture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States