Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
A couple things I would like to say towards the negative posts: For one, if it isn't rising you need to (1)See if you are using QUICK or RAPID Rise Yeast as the recipe requested or just Active Dry. I use Active Dry...Give it some time. Patience is a virtue. (2) If it is "bland" to you, maybe try buying a loaf of honey wheat bread. My husband and I used to buy loafed honey wheat bread. It doesn't taste JUST LIKE HONEY but it has a sweet taste. This is much better tasting than store-bought. I add water and let mine rise extra long for those who say it is dense. I found it dense the first time I made it as well. A lot of things factor in here like what kind of flour you are using, how much water, bottled or highly chlorinated water, etc. Play with the recipe. That is what makes a wonderful cook :). Thank you, Kristin! I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this recipe on a whim because I was out of bread. I used 3C wheat and 2 1/2 C AP flour. It turned out great. After reading other reviews I proofed in a 175 degree oven for 1 hour. The second proof only took 30 min using the same method. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1/8 C more honey. I can't wait for my kids to try it in the morning. I will try it with bread flour next time to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Pearce Hochstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yum!!!!! This was so delish! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect! Best bread I have made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We do not buy bread anymore....this is the bread my family loves the best. I bet I make 4-6 loaves every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelbaCarter
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Simple. Made eight mini loaves. Delicious. Will try again, substituting molasses. I bet it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I tried this recepie and all it tasted like was plain old whole wheat bread. You could not taste the honey whatever so ever. Defiantly will not be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was scared this wasn't going to turn out because it was my first time making bread in years and I live at almost 8000 ft so I had to adjust flour/liquids/temp but it turned out great!!! Its a thicker bread, soft and moist! I love this and will make again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was really good. Will be making this often. Thanks for tje recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been baking bread for many years but I don't have a favorite. I am always looking for new recipes and this is a good one. Since I live in humid Pensacola, I was leery about the additional 1/4 cup water so I left it out and would add it if needed during machine kneading. Even without the 1/4 cup water the dough was pretty hydrated. I left it as is and added a little additional flour while hand kneading for a couple of minutes. I figured this will make the loafs a little lighter and I was right. If you live in a humid area, I would differently watch the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knox, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States