Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My first attempt ever at making bread. This was a snap. I pulled one loaf out a bit early, so it was doughy in the middle (we suffered through it). Otherwise, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This bread is delicious!!!!!!! I made it into two rounds instead of in loaf pans. It took a little longer to rise than what recipe said but well worth the wait!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I really liked this recipe! I made the dough in the bread maker by just putting in the order recommended by the machine. Then I took it out, separated it, placed it in the 2 loaf pans (I do like oven baked better than bread machine), let it rise for 1 hour, and then baked in the oven. It was fantastic with a great sandwich bread consistency for easy cutting and serving. The only change I made (besides prep) was that I did 3c ww flour, 2c b flour instead of vice versa as recommended and I added 2 T of wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's so yummy. It's easy. And from other reviews you can see how versatile it is; subst milk for evap milk, changing whole wheat to bread flour ratio, subst the type of flour you prefer, add more/less honey for your taste, etc. In two days, we've made four loaves and they don't last long. Today my kids, ages 8, 6, and 4 have asked for more bread. We had store bought in the pantry and no more homemade bread. When they saw what bread was left they asked for something else to eat. They didn't want store bought bread. And they usually will eat slices by itself. Also, my kids are not picky eaters. They try everything I give them - spinach to asparagus. For them to pass up store bought honey wheat bread - not generic, and totally choose something else to eat says something. Try this recipe. You're gonna love it. Helpful Info: .25 ounce rapid rise = 2-1/4 tsp yeast from jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will add more honey and yeast. I am an experienced baker and the dough took nearly 4 hours to rise. It's a keeper, but only with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I just started to bake bread from scratch, and this recipe is easy and yummy! It is very moist, and keeps well. I didnt have any shortening the first time I made it, so I substituted butter instead and it turned out great! I recommend this recipe over any of the other wheat bread recipes. I tried several before I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a great bread. Here are some tips that might help: As long as you knead this dough long enough (7 min or so,) and allow your yeast to proof till foamy, there's no reason not to use ALL WHOLE WHEAT flour rather than combining it with bread flour. And don't add extra flour prematurely -- the flour really works itself in the longer you knead and the stickiness goes away. I just let my KitchenAid do all the work (on low speed.) I didn't have to add gluten in order to get a light, fluffy, bakery quality bread. Using all WW flour makes the bread so much healthier! I allowed my bread to rise in an oven set to "warm" with the door open. Also, if you're not using pre-measured, enveloped yeast, .25 oz = 2 1/4 t yeast. I replaced the shortening with melted butter, but left off the 2T called for as a glaze (it really isn't needed.) One other suggestion - bake at 350 rather than 375; maybe my oven runs hot? Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
PERFECT! I have tried more recipes than I can count and I have FINALLY found a soft wheat bread that doesn't weigh a ton and instead is actually light and airy! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent....my family loved it. added extra honey and extra yeast and still took a long time to rise but worth the wait. cant wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States