Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
WOW!!!! I'd actually pay for that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've used this recipe several times; its the closest i've found to the bread my mother made for us when i was a child; just a bit sweet, slightly dense. I do the first mix step with a paddle mixer for a couple minutes on my KitchenAid; then another 30 seconds to incorp the yeast. Flour gets added a cup at a time, using the kneading hook; then i let the hook go 5 minutes. This dough is /very/ sticky if you are not kneading by hand (which adds a little more flour in) you'll be tempted to add more flour, don't. Once the first rise finishes that super sticky texture goes away. This dough does take a bit longer to rise (i'm not sure the cause), i normally give it another 10 minutes on each rise (done on top of the stove top, covered in a damp tea towel with the oven on 325, do NOT put it over the vent(back left hand burner), you will cook your dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saloni
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Came out very nice. I doubled the yeast though, considering our northwest cold weather. Replaced canola oil with shortening. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I sooo wanted to give this a 5-star rating. The taste is great but I had a heck of a time with the prep. I followed the directions as written, but the dough was very sticky--I was never able to form a ball even though I added more flour. I read the reviews and all the tips--applied some of them. I went ahead and baked it, and like I said the taste was great, but the bread was a little too dense. I live in the south TX region and it is very humid here so maybe the flour was moist? If anyone has some advice, it'll be very welcome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is, by FAR, the BEST bread recipe I've ever followed. I was expecting a bread that would taste like the majority of my previously baked homemade breads: less than stellar. This bread is anything but boring. In fact, it's dense, full of flavor, sweet (honey) and hearty. It's not grainy or overly-heathly tasting. Instead, it tastes so sinfully delicious. I ate half of one of the loaves myself. It was THAT good. Funny enough, I forgot to add my yeast mixture until the last minute! So, I added it, had to add a handful of flour (all-purpose) to dry the batter, and it still turned out. No ingredient modifications on my end except for that tiny addition, and I seriously doubt it changed anything. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very easy recipe and very tasty result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I followed the instructions exactly using melted buttered flavored shortening. I lost track of how much extra flour I had to use, and I was worried that it wouldn't turn out right because of that, but it was delicious. Yay! The second time around, I omitted the extra 1/4 cup of water, used butter instead of shortening, added 8 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten (this makes the texture softer, and it is a now my secret ingredient for perfect whole wheat bread) and after kneading I put the dough in a buttered bowl, covered it with plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge overnight. When I woke up, I shaped the dough into two loaves and let it come to room temp and do the second rise. (The first rise happened slowly in the refrigerator and helps the bread develop even more flavor.) I bake at 375 for 25 minutes and the results were amazing!!! We go through a loaf a day. My entire family loves it. It's the best bread I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The texture of the bread was nice but the flavor it was something that we didn't enjoy. Sorry to say it because we had great expectations for this recipe as the ingredients are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It is really easy and taste great ! After reviewing others, I did two changes. One is to increase to 3 teaspoon yeast and 1/2 cup honey, other than that I stick with receipt. It turn out is really nice . I enjoy it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hueilan chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My family loved this! My kids ate a loaf and a half by themselves. I will definitely be making bread instead of buying it at the store from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States