Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GotRice?
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Thanks so much, great recipe. I've been looking for this recipe for a long time now, and I'll look no further! The proportions were just right. One thing I did do differently was to cut the large shrimp into smaller bite-size pieces. They fry fast, and the yummy sauce sticks more evenly. Just like the restaurant! Yum-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew Kobin
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
As good if not better than any restaurant versions I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
yum! i used cornstarch instead of the flour it called for and it worked just as well. instead of boiling the pecans in sugar water, try toasting them in a sauce pan with 2 tbsp of butter and then 2-3 tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Oh my gosh! I *absolutely love* honey walnut shrimp, but I didn't think that the recipe would be as simple as this. Like my display name says, I'm clueless when it comes to cooking. The only part that took me a while to get down was separating the egg whites, but other than that, if you're craving for some honey walnut shrimp, THIS is the recipe to use! Also, don't forget about the cabbage! Just shred some cabbage and spread it on the bottom of your container. After you coat the shrimp with the sauce, the cabbage can catch the extra sauce, and you've got yourself a delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio Village, Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Living In: Dededo, Dededo, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I used another recipe for the egg white mixture. 1/2 egg white. 1/2 cup cornstarch. Make sure to add shrimp to oil individually so they don't stick togehter. Used Missy's Candied Walnut recipe to cook walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
One of the most incredible shrimp dishes I have ever taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Awesome dish, not well known, but tasty! dont let the weird sauce mixture turn you off....this is what you get in the resturant...take it easy on the mayo though use lite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My husband enjoyed it. He said that it tasted exactly like how the restaurant make it. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was amazing! Walnut prawns is quite an expensive dish so I was thrilled that this recipe came out as well as what I would get at a restaurant. I use Dawn's candied walnuts for this dish, wish are much closer to what you'll find in a restaurant. Also, for the sauce I used about half condensed milk to half mayo so it's not too mayo tasting. Use jumbo shrimp or prawns to get the full restaurant effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is truly a restaurant quality recipe! The glut. rice flour makes the world of difference and the shrimp even crisp up perfectly in the toaster oven for leftover. I toss the shrimp in the sauce over a low heat so the whole dish was heated through and the sauce thinned a bit. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States