Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
yum! i used cornstarch instead of the flour it called for and it worked just as well. instead of boiling the pecans in sugar water, try toasting them in a sauce pan with 2 tbsp of butter and then 2-3 tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Oh my gosh! I *absolutely love* honey walnut shrimp, but I didn't think that the recipe would be as simple as this. Like my display name says, I'm clueless when it comes to cooking. The only part that took me a while to get down was separating the egg whites, but other than that, if you're craving for some honey walnut shrimp, THIS is the recipe to use! Also, don't forget about the cabbage! Just shred some cabbage and spread it on the bottom of your container. After you coat the shrimp with the sauce, the cabbage can catch the extra sauce, and you've got yourself a delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio Village, Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Living In: Dededo, Dededo, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is hands down the best thing I have ever done with shrimp! Maybe even better than PF Chang's version. I like my walnuts crispy, so I threw them in the hot oil for a moment (maybe 10-20 seconds) after boiling with sugar. Note that this will dirty the oil a bit, so if you are concerned with presentation you might want to use fresh oil for the shrimp. I used cornstarch instead of the rice flour, and mixed to an "Elmer's Glue" consistency. The batter was enough for a pound and a half of shrimp, but if you use that much you'll need to double the sauce. I never quite got the shrimp to a golden brown color, but I pulled the shrimp after six minutes and they were fine. The batter is bland, but it lets the sauce showcase itself. I added a teaspoon of lemon juice to the sauce for a bit of tang, and served with honeydew melon chunks. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I registered just to rate this recipe. Honestly this taste better then some restaurants I’ve had this dish at. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit. The effort should be made to use mochiko because it has a different texture that corn starch or flour can not duplicate. My husband suggested that I use the egg white mochiko mixture to coat chicken and make orange chicken. Thanks for sharing I will diffidently be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I used another recipe for the egg white mixture. 1/2 egg white. 1/2 cup cornstarch. Make sure to add shrimp to oil individually so they don't stick togehter. Used Missy's Candied Walnut recipe to cook walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I used cornstarch instead of the mochiko...a little more than 2/3 cup to make it pasty and doubled the recipe for the sauce. My husband said it was really good and my daughter asked me to make more sauce next time. Tasted just like a dish I usually get at my favorite chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris annette beason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew Kobin
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
As good if not better than any restaurant versions I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GotRice?
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Thanks so much, great recipe. I've been looking for this recipe for a long time now, and I'll look no further! The proportions were just right. One thing I did do differently was to cut the large shrimp into smaller bite-size pieces. They fry fast, and the yummy sauce sticks more evenly. Just like the restaurant! Yum-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I used regular flour and meringue powder/water equivalent instead of the listed ingredients. I liked the fact that the shrimp coating did not get soggy after the sauce was added. I also doubled the sauce recipe to make sure there was enough. I deep fried the walnuts for about 3 mins in addition to the boiling in sugar to make them crispy. The first thing my picky husband said was "This is heaven, it tastes exactly like the restaurant!" This one's a keeper. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The question of authenticity is difficult because of regional variations. I would say that this recipe is not what I would prefer. It's too greasy and too sweet. My preferences run toward light, flavorful, subtleties, and this dish, as listed, does not fulfill that requirement. A far better method for treating shrimp in this manner is the standard wash of the walnuts in 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup of sugar. Forget the egg white batter--it brings the wrong texture to this dish. Instead, a very light egg wash with corn starch and panko is spot on, and the dip should be made minus the condensed milk with a very small touch of pressed garlic, so that you have what is essentially a very lightly touched aioli sauce with a honey sweetened linger on the palate. That's the way you improve on what has been lost in translation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States