Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I noticed that most people used cornstarch instead of the mochiko....which is what I should have probably done but I like to try something new. I followed the recipe nearly exactly except for the batter, following the recipe you WILL get a pasty texture but how are you supposed to dip shrimp in paste? Riiiiighhhhtttt, anyways I ended up adding ice water about 1 cup and pretty much had the same consistency as tempura batter. I also need to add....to NOT fry the shrimp for 5 minutes like this recipe says. Shrimp will overcook guaranteed and it will be not good (I tested one shrimp of course, FAIL). I recommend frying on high for 35 sec- 1 min minute, if ur using peanut oil or fry at medium high for 1-1.5 min using vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very simple to make. Tasted better than I expected and had the perfect amount of sweetness. I was short on the sauce, just by a little bit, but that wasn't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've made this dish a few times and I think it's amazing! I know some people thought it was a little sweet, but that's contingent on who's tasting it. I would suggest starting with half the amount of honey and sweetened milk first and adding more according. But I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Excellent, ty for sharing will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love love love this! Reminds me of my favorite recipe back home. i didn't have mochiko so just left it out. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Have made this several times... delicious! No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Ugh, I hate writing bad reviews. At first, I was very enthusiastic and hyped up about this dish. I had eaten Honey Walnut Shrimp before in a Chinese Restaurant, and wanted to make it at home. I was unfortunately very disappointed... The fry batter around the shrimp was very thin and rough--very uncomfortable to eat. The walnuts were not candied at all--very bland to eat. The sauce was not my type. Maybe I'm just not a Honey Walnut Shrimp fan. Because of my experience I will not be eating/cooking any shrimp-based dishes soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie4EVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very yummy but i used coconut milk and candied the walnuts in butter and brown or reg sugar. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana Scalese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
A really delicious dish! The directions were easy to follow. I used flour instead of mochiko, since I didn't have it. I wonder if there is a healthier version. It uses sugar, honey, and condensed milk... which kind of scare me thinking about the amount of sugar that adds up to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States