Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Have made this several times... delicious! No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Ugh, I hate writing bad reviews. At first, I was very enthusiastic and hyped up about this dish. I had eaten Honey Walnut Shrimp before in a Chinese Restaurant, and wanted to make it at home. I was unfortunately very disappointed... The fry batter around the shrimp was very thin and rough--very uncomfortable to eat. The walnuts were not candied at all--very bland to eat. The sauce was not my type. Maybe I'm just not a Honey Walnut Shrimp fan. Because of my experience I will not be eating/cooking any shrimp-based dishes soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie4EVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very yummy but i used coconut milk and candied the walnuts in butter and brown or reg sugar. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
A really delicious dish! The directions were easy to follow. I used flour instead of mochiko, since I didn't have it. I wonder if there is a healthier version. It uses sugar, honey, and condensed milk... which kind of scare me thinking about the amount of sugar that adds up to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I liked the idea of shrimp and walnuts in a sweet sauce, but this was so over the top in sweetness it was like eating candy for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
AMAZING.. needs to be chrispier though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgisch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is awsome! it is fast easy and delicious...it taste almost just the same as my favorite resturant...(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good recipe, but the mayo sauce was way too sweet, I had to throw away the first batch to make a second one. I used 1TB of honey and still though it was amazingly sweet. I added more mayo cause I like more of the mayo taste. And I used jumbo shrimp. Everything else was to the exact recipe. I put the sauce on the side, so people can choose the amount of sauce they wanted on their shrimps. I kinda turn it into a Thai wrap by wrapping them in Romain lettuce, and they were delicious. The lettuce makes the meal feel less heavy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I didn't really care for the shrimp batter or the nuts. But the sauce was a keeper. The batter had no flavor and had an odd styrofoam texture. I did ues the corn starch that others suggusted. Next time I will use the sauce but maybe make a tempura batter. The nuts never "dried" I would try another candied nut recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
uh this is uhmazing made it fro my cousins birthday it was so yummy and pretty easy everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madlin417

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States