Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
this was too sweet for my taste, i was not a fan of the walnuts and though the shrimp tasted well at first, after a few bites it was just nauseating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabster3375

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The first time I substituted corn starch for the mochiko but the second time I just used regular flour and it came out way better. As good as the chinese restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
LOVE this one! Honey loves it too! Just as good as PA**DA EX***SS! My only change: after battering the shrimp, roll in Panko crumbs, then deep fry. They stay crispy after tossing in the sauce! OK, too many exclamation points. But this one is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Don't over beat the egg whites or your batter will be too dry. If that happens add a little water to thin. I added about twice as much mayo, but I think that's because I wanted the sauce to taste more like our local Chinese take outs. Otherwise, extremely pleased! Walnut shrimp is one of the most expensive dishes on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I recently had honey walnut shrimp for the first time on vacation in Oahu's Chinatown. My friend loved it so much that we decided to try to duplicate it using your recipe. I made some adjustments, during and after tasting it. I used 1/4 cup of corn starch to 4 whipped egg whites and had quite a bit left over even tho I used more than a pound and a half of 21/26 shrimp. I would start with 2 beaten egg whites and add enough corn starch to make a fairly thin, but not soupy batter in the future. The shredded cabbage is a must! It adds texture and makes the presentation quite attractive and tastes great as other reviewers have mentioned, by catching and holding the sauce. I doubled the sauce recipe and adjusted the taste by squeezing a 1/4 fresh lemon to add some lightness. Regarding the walnuts - I dissolved the sugar in 1/2 cup water and boiled for 5 minutes. Drained and dried on a cookie sheet. I didn't think they needed further treatment. I will definitely make this recipe again and will likely also use it with chicken as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was quite tasty. We doubled the recipe for our family of five and the kids went to town on it! It was a bit of effort for a work night, but I will certainly make it again on a weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS! I used cornstarch, and they came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaisRegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I noticed that most people used cornstarch instead of the mochiko....which is what I should have probably done but I like to try something new. I followed the recipe nearly exactly except for the batter, following the recipe you WILL get a pasty texture but how are you supposed to dip shrimp in paste? Riiiiighhhhtttt, anyways I ended up adding ice water about 1 cup and pretty much had the same consistency as tempura batter. I also need to add....to NOT fry the shrimp for 5 minutes like this recipe says. Shrimp will overcook guaranteed and it will be not good (I tested one shrimp of course, FAIL). I recommend frying on high for 35 sec- 1 min minute, if ur using peanut oil or fry at medium high for 1-1.5 min using vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very simple to make. Tasted better than I expected and had the perfect amount of sweetness. I was short on the sauce, just by a little bit, but that wasn't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States