Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is my favorite dish at Chinese restaurants. I was absolutely delighted to be able to make it at home finally. This recipe is perfect! Looked and tasted excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Sadly I did not find any Mochiko but I was still able to make this recipe and it was delicious!! Reminds me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrisCraftyShop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Every bit as good as the best I've had in China Town in Chicago. A spot on recipe that amazes anyone who eats it. A ++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
this was too sweet for my taste, i was not a fan of the walnuts and though the shrimp tasted well at first, after a few bites it was just nauseating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabster3375

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The first time I substituted corn starch for the mochiko but the second time I just used regular flour and it came out way better. As good as the chinese restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
LOVE this one! Honey loves it too! Just as good as PA**DA EX***SS! My only change: after battering the shrimp, roll in Panko crumbs, then deep fry. They stay crispy after tossing in the sauce! OK, too many exclamation points. But this one is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Don't over beat the egg whites or your batter will be too dry. If that happens add a little water to thin. I added about twice as much mayo, but I think that's because I wanted the sauce to taste more like our local Chinese take outs. Otherwise, extremely pleased! Walnut shrimp is one of the most expensive dishes on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I recently had honey walnut shrimp for the first time on vacation in Oahu's Chinatown. My friend loved it so much that we decided to try to duplicate it using your recipe. I made some adjustments, during and after tasting it. I used 1/4 cup of corn starch to 4 whipped egg whites and had quite a bit left over even tho I used more than a pound and a half of 21/26 shrimp. I would start with 2 beaten egg whites and add enough corn starch to make a fairly thin, but not soupy batter in the future. The shredded cabbage is a must! It adds texture and makes the presentation quite attractive and tastes great as other reviewers have mentioned, by catching and holding the sauce. I doubled the sauce recipe and adjusted the taste by squeezing a 1/4 fresh lemon to add some lightness. Regarding the walnuts - I dissolved the sugar in 1/2 cup water and boiled for 5 minutes. Drained and dried on a cookie sheet. I didn't think they needed further treatment. I will definitely make this recipe again and will likely also use it with chicken as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was quite tasty. We doubled the recipe for our family of five and the kids went to town on it! It was a bit of effort for a work night, but I will certainly make it again on a weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS! I used cornstarch, and they came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaisRegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States