Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
honey walnut shrimp has always been a favorite of mine at restaurants. but now i can make my very own! EVEN BETTER than some restaurants. thank you for sharing! i didnt have walnuts, so i candied pecans instead (as in my picture) but it was still yummmy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missLEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These were pretty good but not at all like what I usually get from take out. I was out of Mochiko so I used corn starch which is why I gave this 4 because that may have altered my results. I think my prawns may have been too big as they were barely covered in battered after dipping many times. I even had to cut them in half. They were tiger prawns, next time I'll try smaller. they sauce was really good but a bit different from what I'm used too texture wise. I think I'll stick to the restuarants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J CAT
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We didn't change a thing on this. It was easy to make and tasted fabulous. We have made this multiple times......LOVE IT Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J CAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I CAN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS FROM SCRATCH! It was very easy (well, except for the deep frying part...it was easy but kind of took a while). SUGGESTION: Double the sauce and it will be the perfect amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I omitted the walnut stage(hubby doesn't like walnuts) I used corn staech, as another reviewer sugusted. I made batter with 6 eggs and only had a little left from my lb of shrimp....minus the tails. I made double the sauce. This was sooo messy and time consuming. I will not make this again for this reason, if it wasn't for that I'd make it again, it had great flavor. Next time I'll cheat and buy pre-battered shrimp and use this sauce recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This recipe is JUST AS GOOD as P.F. Changs Shrimp with Candied Walnuts (minus the melon)! I was very impressed! It's simple and inexpensive to make as well! For the price of one serving at PFCs I was able to make enough for my family of 5 with leftovers! I served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli. I only made minor changes to the recipe. I used cornstarch instead of the rice flour and it worked great. And I used a pound and half of shrimp. I didn't have to double the batter. There was plenty. But I did double the sauce. I highly recommend this restaurant quality meal! You definitely won't be sorry you spent way less for the same meal you'd get at your favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was so delicious. My husband always orders this dish at Chinese restuarants but our closest one is ove 45 minutes away. My picky 6 year old even liked it! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed it exactly as written except that I used far less oil for frying. My husband and son both agreed that it tasted just like the Honey Walnut Shrimp that we get from our favorite restaurant. Serving suggestion = add a small handful of thawed peas in for added flavor and color. - Thanks Celia for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Rated by Sherri. Batter was slightly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this for my mom who was yearning for PF Chang’s version. It turned out pretty good; the rice flour really makes a difference. You do need the condensed milk so don’t substitute it with milk or ½ and ½. I thought it was a little dry at first so I added more sauce. That was a mistake. Had I left it alone it would have been great. The shrimp were very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States