Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I CAN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS FROM SCRATCH! It was very easy (well, except for the deep frying part...it was easy but kind of took a while). SUGGESTION: Double the sauce and it will be the perfect amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I omitted the walnut stage(hubby doesn't like walnuts) I used corn staech, as another reviewer sugusted. I made batter with 6 eggs and only had a little left from my lb of shrimp....minus the tails. I made double the sauce. This was sooo messy and time consuming. I will not make this again for this reason, if it wasn't for that I'd make it again, it had great flavor. Next time I'll cheat and buy pre-battered shrimp and use this sauce recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This recipe is JUST AS GOOD as P.F. Changs Shrimp with Candied Walnuts (minus the melon)! I was very impressed! It's simple and inexpensive to make as well! For the price of one serving at PFCs I was able to make enough for my family of 5 with leftovers! I served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli. I only made minor changes to the recipe. I used cornstarch instead of the rice flour and it worked great. And I used a pound and half of shrimp. I didn't have to double the batter. There was plenty. But I did double the sauce. I highly recommend this restaurant quality meal! You definitely won't be sorry you spent way less for the same meal you'd get at your favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was so delicious. My husband always orders this dish at Chinese restuarants but our closest one is ove 45 minutes away. My picky 6 year old even liked it! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed it exactly as written except that I used far less oil for frying. My husband and son both agreed that it tasted just like the Honey Walnut Shrimp that we get from our favorite restaurant. Serving suggestion = add a small handful of thawed peas in for added flavor and color. - Thanks Celia for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Rated by Sherri. Batter was slightly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this for my mom who was yearning for PF Chang’s version. It turned out pretty good; the rice flour really makes a difference. You do need the condensed milk so don’t substitute it with milk or ½ and ½. I thought it was a little dry at first so I added more sauce. That was a mistake. Had I left it alone it would have been great. The shrimp were very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were great. The only errors were my own. Next time I will make more batter to really coat the shrimp, and cut off the tails so it's easier to eat. I did have to thin the Mochiko though with a little extra water to make it thin enough to dip the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I followed this exactly and really didn't like it at all. The sauce was ok but that was the only positive part. I did serve it alone. Maybe some rice would have helped. I will not be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Just tried out this recipe with all the inlaws and what a hit! Here is what I did. I used chicken instead of shrimp, and I used an elctric mixer on low to make the batter. I do NOT recomend using cornstarch, I did a test run with a little batter on some potatoes and the batch I made without c.s. was perfect. The one with c.s. was too tough. I used regular rice flour as well. This batter worked so well I deep fried a bannana :D the sauce is phenominal. I made 2 test batches too; one with fat free con. milk and light mayo (Helmin's always) and it was just as good. All in all, this recipe is a winner. Did I mention I have a wheat gluten allergy, so nice to have battered anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Eve Hudkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States