Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed it exactly as written except that I used far less oil for frying. My husband and son both agreed that it tasted just like the Honey Walnut Shrimp that we get from our favorite restaurant. Serving suggestion = add a small handful of thawed peas in for added flavor and color. - Thanks Celia for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Rated by Sherri. Batter was slightly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made this for my mom who was yearning for PF Chang’s version. It turned out pretty good; the rice flour really makes a difference. You do need the condensed milk so don’t substitute it with milk or ½ and ½. I thought it was a little dry at first so I added more sauce. That was a mistake. Had I left it alone it would have been great. The shrimp were very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were great. The only errors were my own. Next time I will make more batter to really coat the shrimp, and cut off the tails so it's easier to eat. I did have to thin the Mochiko though with a little extra water to make it thin enough to dip the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I followed this exactly and really didn't like it at all. The sauce was ok but that was the only positive part. I did serve it alone. Maybe some rice would have helped. I will not be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Just tried out this recipe with all the inlaws and what a hit! Here is what I did. I used chicken instead of shrimp, and I used an elctric mixer on low to make the batter. I do NOT recomend using cornstarch, I did a test run with a little batter on some potatoes and the batch I made without c.s. was perfect. The one with c.s. was too tough. I used regular rice flour as well. This batter worked so well I deep fried a bannana :D the sauce is phenominal. I made 2 test batches too; one with fat free con. milk and light mayo (Helmin's always) and it was just as good. All in all, this recipe is a winner. Did I mention I have a wheat gluten allergy, so nice to have battered anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Eve H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I liked the coating very much, nice and crispy. Used cornstarch instead of mochiko. I think this would be good as a coating on homemade fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was actually better the next day!!! Why? Because some of the honey had separated out of the sauce. I would recommend using much less honey than in the recipe. Don't be fooled by the time either, it took me over an hour to make it. Otherwise, it's probably one of the best dinners I've made, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie83

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
We absolutely love this dish and make it on a weekly basis. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wow! Easy, and much like the restaurant version. I added a little club soda to the rice flour/egg mixture which created an even lighter crispy shell. I served the shrimp on a bed of shredded cabbage and carrots, as suggested in one of the reviews, along with Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States