Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Abosolutely loved this recipe and it was very easy. My husband thought it taste the same as from the restaurant where we usually get it. Costs $18 there. Saved a little money and have a new crowd pleaser. I did not see the rice flour at the supermarket so I used cornstarch as some of the others had. I will go to the asian market to get the rice flour for the next time I prepare it. I love recipes that are inexpensive and don't take that much time. You can still be on a budget and have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was an absolute hit at my sisters baby shower! I emailed this recipe to a few people because they were surprised how easy it was. The only thing im trying to figure out is how to keep it crisp and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Love this recipe! I substitute the shrimp for chicken and the walnuts for pecans! I also like to add chunked pineapple to the sauce-Delicious! My husband and toddler agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacyvon1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this tonight for dinner and I thought it was okay while my family really enjoyed it! I made a few tiny changes to the recipe. I added about a tbsp. or less of honey into the walnut sugar syrup after it was done boiling, drained and put them in the oven on 350 for about 10-15 min or until it was golden, A LOT better than just boiled sugar. Added a tbsp less honey to the sauce and a little more mayo. Turned out pretty good but I wish the batter was more crispy, didn't want rubbery shrimp so I did not cook it for 5 min in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
excellent! better than some restaurants .we had spring rolls,rice,and rangoons with it as well.simple ingredients to buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Wow!!!! I just finished eating this with home-made chicken fried rice. Soooo good. My husband is extremely picky about the foods he eats. I've tried so many recipes and he will always suggest a change to make it better. However, this recipe is a smash hit. My family absolutely loved it. And yes, we will definately be making this soon in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie-Pri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
OH MY GOSH!!! I love this! This is my favorite dish to get when we go out to eat and I've spent forever trying to get the recipe. Well I've finally found it! I would not change a thing on the recipe. The only thing I did was made extra sauce just in case. My whole family loved it and I even made extra for our lunches the next day. My husband called me from work just to express again how much he loved it. This is the best recipe yet! If your contemplating about trying it don't be. Its very easy. You may have to go to an oriental market to get the rice flour, but besides that it's so simple. You wont be disappointed. I guartantee it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
honey walnut shrimp has always been a favorite of mine at restaurants. but now i can make my very own! EVEN BETTER than some restaurants. thank you for sharing! i didnt have walnuts, so i candied pecans instead (as in my picture) but it was still yummmy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missLEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These were pretty good but not at all like what I usually get from take out. I was out of Mochiko so I used corn starch which is why I gave this 4 because that may have altered my results. I think my prawns may have been too big as they were barely covered in battered after dipping many times. I even had to cut them in half. They were tiger prawns, next time I'll try smaller. they sauce was really good but a bit different from what I'm used too texture wise. I think I'll stick to the restuarants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J CAT
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We didn't change a thing on this. It was easy to make and tasted fabulous. We have made this multiple times......LOVE IT Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J CAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States