Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Fried up golden brown and light. A perfect batter with conrstarch. I used slightly more cornstarch because my eggs were large and that worked well. I did squeeze a dab of lemon juice in my sauce. I will do this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eviee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Absolutely love this when I go out to dinner so thought I'd try to make it. Success! It was so easy and tasty. The sauce was ridiculously simple to make and so very good. At prep time I thought I had prawns, but when I opened the frozen shrimp they were the little ones for like a Shrimp Louie salad. I was worried it wouldn't work, but I tossed them in the mochiko & egg white batter then into the fry pan. Some stuck together and made little shrimp clusters, but being coated and fried it did not negatively impact the taste. Drained the clusters, mixed them into the creamy sauce. I served it over steamed rice garnished with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
If you are going for the PF Changs version omit the egg white and mochiko and just dust with corn starch. Then saute in a 3T of oil instead of deep fry. I also left the honey out because the honeydew was so sweet and the honey turned the sauce brown. The sauce is just 1/4c mayo and 2T lemon juice add some condensed milk if your honeydew isn't sweet. Heat honeydew just until hot and serve immediately with Diamond candied walnuts as a garnish. SIX STARS for my version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Lance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was so yummy and very close to the taste of my favorite dish at a restaurant. I used cornstarch instead of mochiko flour and sauteed the walnuts after boiling to make them crispier. Thank you for sharing this recipe, now I can re-create the dish on my own without having to go out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISHME
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very easy and great tasting. I only used 1/2 tablespoon of the sweet condensed milk and it was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very delicious! Easy to make. I made a mistake of adding all the mochiko to the egg whites so it was a like a big ball of glue rather than a batter, a little water helped with that. Tastes just like the restaurant. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
followed recipe to the T, came out very very eggy and tooo tooo sweet, my boyfriend took a few bites but i could see he did not like it either, pretty disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was quite yummy! But I have had this dish at restaurants where the prawns were not battered or deep fried. I never deep fry anything at home so it was an 'interesting' task... and the mess I made! Having said that, the sauce was good and I will definitely make this again but just by sauteeing the prawns instead of deep frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Abosolutely loved this recipe and it was very easy. My husband thought it taste the same as from the restaurant where we usually get it. Costs $18 there. Saved a little money and have a new crowd pleaser. I did not see the rice flour at the supermarket so I used cornstarch as some of the others had. I will go to the asian market to get the rice flour for the next time I prepare it. I love recipes that are inexpensive and don't take that much time. You can still be on a budget and have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States