Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
OMG, ive never cooked anything before in my life. this was the very first dish that i made and it came out amazing! just like at the restaurants if not BETTER! i followed the instructions word for word. the batter could have been a bit thicker, i guess i just need a bit more starch. shocked the hell out of my family too! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was decent. The batter was way to eggy, and wouldn't adhere to the shrimp...a lot of it came off during frying and didn't reach that golden color (as pictured) without overcooking the shrimp. Perhaps dredging the shrimp in rice flour before battering would help, but not sure what to do to make the batter itself less eggy. The sauce calls for way to much honey. I recommend decreasing the honey by half. Save yourself some time and use purchased glazed walnuts. Some reviewers stated that they couldn't find Mochico rice flour. Is is available in Asian markets, or ion most major grocery stores, usually in the "ethnic foods" section. It comes in a small, white box (about the size of a Mac N Cheese box.) Also stated in many reviews is that the battered shrimp was bland, Yes, but the sauce compensates for that. Note that the sauce is sweet and this dish should be served with something to counter-balance that. I served it atop a bed of cabbage...actually, I used a bag of the pre-shredded coleslaw mix (from the produce section.) Overall, good recipe, but needs some tweaking. If anyone has any suggestion as to how to make the batter any better, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
just cooked this last night.. and the sauce was spot on with the one we eat at the restaurant.. although the coating was different but, nonetheless still tasty.. did this without the walnuts but, i added some shredded cabbage under the shrimp..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Gilpatrick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
wonderful recipe! nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was pretty darn good! I took a couple of the reviewer's tips and did the following: Used about half the mayo and a little more condensed milk. Also doubled the sauce. And used cornstarch instead of the mochiko called for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This dish was super easy and incredible. The only thing that was weird was the rice flour and egg white mixture - it did become a paste and then how can you dip? I added some water and blended it in and it was perfect. We have shrimp allergies in our family, so we made this with chicken which was fantastic. We'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Good and easy. A little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have eaten this two nights in a row. My husband was out of town, so tonight he had it. As my sister said, "to, die for" The only change was I made it for two, and used cornstarch instead of the rice flour, I am on a gluten free diet, and burnt out on rice flour. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Followed everything exactly, didn't change a thing. This was fairly easy and it was delicious. My whole family, down to my 3 year old loved it. A little time consuming for me but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbfraissinet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States