Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The question of authenticity is difficult because of regional variations. I would say that this recipe is not what I would prefer. It's too greasy and too sweet. My preferences run toward light, flavorful, subtleties, and this dish, as listed, does not fulfill that requirement. A far better method for treating shrimp in this manner is the standard wash of the walnuts in 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup of sugar. Forget the egg white batter--it brings the wrong texture to this dish. Instead, a very light egg wash with corn starch and panko is spot on, and the dip should be made minus the condensed milk with a very small touch of pressed garlic, so that you have what is essentially a very lightly touched aioli sauce with a honey sweetened linger on the palate. That's the way you improve on what has been lost in translation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe!! My boyfriend says it's just as good as the restaurant version. It's soo easy to make and just super tasty!! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
my husband and i loved this! we didn't think it was too sweet,as others had mentioned. the mixture was perfect for just one pound of shrimp! bought regular rice flour at the 99 Ranch Market for only 99cents :) and for people complaining about what to do with a can (minus a tbs) of condensed milk ... there are a thousand recipes you can use it (its not going to make or break a recipe if you're short 1 tbs!) i used the rest for the Mounds Bar Recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very tasty. Kind of time consuming, but maybe I just went about it strangely. My suggestions- deep fry the walnuts at the end for just a few minutes to give them some crunch. Make the sauce before you start frying- the shrimps don't fry that long. To coat all the shrimp easily, dump them into the mix, mix them in with your hand, and pull them out, shake a little, and drop into oil. Doing them one at a time was killing my soul. I served this in bowls individually and let people dish the sauce as they wanted- delicious! (I also used the mochiko- it gave it a wonderful flavor that I think cornstarch wouldn't.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Just what I wanted! Took others' advice and first dipped the shrimp in the egg white, then tossed it in the rice flour before frying. Kept the oil really hot so it browned quickly and stayed crispy. I doubled the sauce recipe but it was really too much. Next time - since I know there will be a next time! - I'll stick with the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Better for weekend cooking than weeknight cooking. The shrimp tasted like yummy caramel popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was excelent like other reviewers i achanged things a bitlike an extra tblsp of honet and sweetened milk better than the resteraunts out here mochiko makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
jolly good,but a little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The sauce tasted perfect but it was thick and pasty and hard to "toss" with the shrimp. I wish it had the consistency to "drizzle" over the shrimp and then toss it. I would make twice as much sauce next time for 1 lb. of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this is one of my favorite dishes when i go for chinese and this recipe is right on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States