Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I just love honey walnut shrimp so when I saw this recipe,I just had to try it out.I like how the condensed milk gave it a really good sweet flavor.I use a little more condensed milk than called for,maybe about 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. I have made this several times now b/c it is amazing! I think it tastes better than the restaurant version! When I discovered how EASY this was to make I was dumbfounded! Even my boyfriend thought it was simple! I definitely make sure to take all the tails off the shrimp. The first time I made this it was so messy! I have learned since then! I make sure to use spoons to place the shrimp in the oil. I play around with the sauce until I like the taste. I sometimes omit the walnuts if I don't have them. And I use "Missy's Candied Walnuts" recipe for them when I do make them. An all around awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choyce13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I am normally not big on leaving reviews, but this one deserves a little extra effort to do so - I must say this recipe is perfect the way it is and the rice flour does make all the difference; only thing I think I might do different is candy the walnuts in the microwave so they are a bit more crunchy. Overall, Fantastic and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was great! I had this same thing from a local Chinese resturant and was so impressed, I wanted to make it myself. This is it exactly. It's a pain in the butt to make, but so worth the effort. you won't be disappointed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Tastes exactly like P.F. Chang's version! I added honeydew balls because that's what the restaurant does & served white rice with it. The Mochiko flour is a MUST! I found it at our neighborhood Albertson's. I made the recipe exactly as written except to cut down on time, I bought the walnuts already candied! It was so yummy...BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I candied the walnuts differently- Lightly toasted them, the melted margarine and dissolved a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Let it cook down to thicken, hence coating the nuts then let it 'dry' on a chopping board (I chose to chop the walnuts slightly to evenly distribute). I did not find mochiko at the regular grocery stores nearby (will look for it if and when I hit the Asian markets) so I used a combination of cornstarch and flour which worked well. The coating is bland, but that is to showcase the sauce... You can easily season it to your liking but be wary of overpowering the sauce. To make the sauce I mixed 2 tablespoons each SC milk & honey and roughly 3 heaping tablespoons of mayo. I would make 1.5 times the sauce next time to coat the same amount of shrimp as it was barely enough. I thought the dish was good as-is though I would season the shrimp batter a little next time but the BF thought this was bordering too sweet... Probably because of the nuts, but he still enjoyed it. We ate it over rice with spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Made this dish last week, very easy to make, I would def make again, next time i would prob use 3 egg whites instead of 4... My husband loved it quote "Its like a party in my mouth" hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
very good.....i used corn starch instead worked fine.........only thing is that topping is very very sweet so careful..first time I made it i didnt include chives, what a mistake! second time added chives and it was great!!! will continue making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I made this last night for the first time. It was pretty good, but a tad too sweet for me. I will for sure be making this again, however, I will probably use half the condensed milk next time, if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really delicious! This is one of my favorite entrees at Chinese restaurants and this recipe is just as good as anything I would buy. Thanks Celia for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States