Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good recipe, but the mayo sauce was way too sweet, I had to throw away the first batch to make a second one. I used 1TB of honey and still though it was amazingly sweet. I added more mayo cause I like more of the mayo taste. And I used jumbo shrimp. Everything else was to the exact recipe. I put the sauce on the side, so people can choose the amount of sauce they wanted on their shrimps. I kinda turn it into a Thai wrap by wrapping them in Romain lettuce, and they were delicious. The lettuce makes the meal feel less heavy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I didn't really care for the shrimp batter or the nuts. But the sauce was a keeper. The batter had no flavor and had an odd styrofoam texture. I did ues the corn starch that others suggusted. Next time I will use the sauce but maybe make a tempura batter. The nuts never "dried" I would try another candied nut recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
uh this is uhmazing made it fro my cousins birthday it was so yummy and pretty easy everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madlin417

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Made this as a test for a potluck party. The guest of honor requested honey walnut shrimp from our favorite Chinese restaurant. So many people are showing up, I needed a money saving alternative. This is perfect! Came out great, and will save me a bunch of money! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I just love honey walnut shrimp so when I saw this recipe,I just had to try it out.I like how the condensed milk gave it a really good sweet flavor.I use a little more condensed milk than called for,maybe about 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. I have made this several times now b/c it is amazing! I think it tastes better than the restaurant version! When I discovered how EASY this was to make I was dumbfounded! Even my boyfriend thought it was simple! I definitely make sure to take all the tails off the shrimp. The first time I made this it was so messy! I have learned since then! I make sure to use spoons to place the shrimp in the oil. I play around with the sauce until I like the taste. I sometimes omit the walnuts if I don't have them. And I use "Missy's Candied Walnuts" recipe for them when I do make them. An all around awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choyce13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I am normally not big on leaving reviews, but this one deserves a little extra effort to do so - I must say this recipe is perfect the way it is and the rice flour does make all the difference; only thing I think I might do different is candy the walnuts in the microwave so they are a bit more crunchy. Overall, Fantastic and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was great! I had this same thing from a local Chinese resturant and was so impressed, I wanted to make it myself. This is it exactly. It's a pain in the butt to make, but so worth the effort. you won't be disappointed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Tastes exactly like P.F. Chang's version! I added honeydew balls because that's what the restaurant does & served white rice with it. The Mochiko flour is a MUST! I found it at our neighborhood Albertson's. I made the recipe exactly as written except to cut down on time, I bought the walnuts already candied! It was so yummy...BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I candied the walnuts differently- Lightly toasted them, the melted margarine and dissolved a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Let it cook down to thicken, hence coating the nuts then let it 'dry' on a chopping board (I chose to chop the walnuts slightly to evenly distribute). I did not find mochiko at the regular grocery stores nearby (will look for it if and when I hit the Asian markets) so I used a combination of cornstarch and flour which worked well. The coating is bland, but that is to showcase the sauce... You can easily season it to your liking but be wary of overpowering the sauce. To make the sauce I mixed 2 tablespoons each SC milk & honey and roughly 3 heaping tablespoons of mayo. I would make 1.5 times the sauce next time to coat the same amount of shrimp as it was barely enough. I thought the dish was good as-is though I would season the shrimp batter a little next time but the BF thought this was bordering too sweet... Probably because of the nuts, but he still enjoyed it. We ate it over rice with spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States