Honey Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I made this with two changes. I added four beaten eggs to the cold milk and let them heat together, being careful not to let it boil. And I used only half the cornstarch. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I'm not a professional puddinhg maker or anything, but I'm almost positive this is missing something signifigant. Eggs maybe? More corn starch? I don't know but the end result of my try was runny......BIG TIME. The flavor was nice I suppose if just would have thickened into a pudding texture if would have been very nice ( I added a pinch of nutmeg and allspice). I'm hoping maybe there was a misprint and hate to have to rate this a 2 as I think it *could* be good, but as is,....not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I have to admit I cheated a little with this. Instead of watching a saucepan, I put my milk in the microwave and let it go for 3 minutes. (This always brings the milk to a froth in mine, but times will differ depending on machines and it's best to keep a close eye on the situation as the milk bubbles up rapidly (and over the sides of the container) when it's boiling.) I had all the other ingredients ready to go and as soon as the milk was close to boiling over, I added it to the rest. This doesn't result in a solid pudding, more of a custard, but it does have a fabulous taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Increased the cornstarch to 3 tbs., added some nutmeg, and made it in the microwave. It worked out great. I am always on the lookout for recipes that use honey instead of sugar, and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This pudding failed to thicken. I cooked it over 10 minutes (more than twice as long as the recipe called for) and it appeared only slightly thickened. But I thought if I refrigerated it, it would thicken to the proper consistency. No, I have Chilled Honey Vanilla Soup!!! Something must be missing (eggs?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
If you want a great pudding recipe, keep looking. If you want a tasty addition to fruit smoothies, try this. Make this recipe, then put it in the blender with fresh fruit and crushed ice. The recipe didn't work for me, but I didn't want to throw it out, so I used it in smoothies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Montgomery Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this to toss with fresh cut fruit. I made lots of substitutes, but my best tip is to add a teaspoon of xanthum gum if you have it – thickens it right up. Also added a teaspoon of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyerb
Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Too thin for a good pudding, but makes an excellent sauce. Slice of pound cake, top with fruit, pour some of this over it, and you've got a great dessert. So while it's a 3 as a pudding(only for the great flavor) it's a 5 as a sauce, so I split the difference and gave it a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
very good recipie. i changed it a little. used orange extract instead of vanilla and 1 cup mile and 1/3 cup hazlenut creamer and some allspice. added some hazlenuts at the end maybe some rasins next time. very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabella217t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I needed to let it thicken more and I might decrease the amount of honey. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States