Honey Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I'm not a professional puddinhg maker or anything, but I'm almost positive this is missing something signifigant. Eggs maybe? More corn starch? I don't know but the end result of my try was runny......BIG TIME. The flavor was nice I suppose if just would have thickened into a pudding texture if would have been very nice ( I added a pinch of nutmeg and allspice). I'm hoping maybe there was a misprint and hate to have to rate this a 2 as I think it *could* be good, but as is,....not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This pudding failed to thicken. I cooked it over 10 minutes (more than twice as long as the recipe called for) and it appeared only slightly thickened. But I thought if I refrigerated it, it would thicken to the proper consistency. No, I have Chilled Honey Vanilla Soup!!! Something must be missing (eggs?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I have to admit I cheated a little with this. Instead of watching a saucepan, I put my milk in the microwave and let it go for 3 minutes. (This always brings the milk to a froth in mine, but times will differ depending on machines and it's best to keep a close eye on the situation as the milk bubbles up rapidly (and over the sides of the container) when it's boiling.) I had all the other ingredients ready to go and as soon as the milk was close to boiling over, I added it to the rest. This doesn't result in a solid pudding, more of a custard, but it does have a fabulous taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I made this with two changes. I added four beaten eggs to the cold milk and let them heat together, being careful not to let it boil. And I used only half the cornstarch. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I needed to let it thicken more and I might decrease the amount of honey. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I tried this recipe tonight, adding a little bit more cornstarch and honey to sweeten and thicken it. Turned out pretty alright, pudding was firm but still wobbly texture. Sweetness was just right. Would definitely try it again, perhaps with cocoa powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Increased the cornstarch to 3 tbs., added some nutmeg, and made it in the microwave. It worked out great. I am always on the lookout for recipes that use honey instead of sugar, and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Probably not a make-again, but I like the taste of honey so was glad I tried the recipe. I did add an egg and used the amount of cornstarch called for in the recipe - but thought it could have been a little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
If you want a great pudding recipe, keep looking. If you want a tasty addition to fruit smoothies, try this. Make this recipe, then put it in the blender with fresh fruit and crushed ice. The recipe didn't work for me, but I didn't want to throw it out, so I used it in smoothies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Montgomery Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
the only changes i added where a pinch of nutmeg at the end, and during the cooking i didn't let the milk boil, instead i heated it about 10 min and stirred in the cornstarch, from there it took about 15 minutes(i let it boil after the starch was added), no change in the heat stirring constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States