Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is a creamy, smooth, rich and not too sweet custard-style vanilla ice cream with a delicate, but perfect hint of honey and brown sugar (I have to disagree with those who compared this to Butter Pecan ice cream--this is an entirely different flavor, the only similarity being the brown sugar used in both.) This is an unusual and creative twist on vanilla ice cream that really works. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. I made just a few changes, which was to cut back on the cream by one cup and replace it with whole milk (cut back on some of the fat.) Just before adding everything to the ice cream maker I whipped it with an electric mixer to "fluff" it up. I also cut back on the sugar by a little more than 1/4 cup but increased the honey by 2-3 tablespoons (I love honey.) The result was a very creamy - and honey tasting - ice cream. Topped with some granola it made a great treat. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Loved this recipe! A few families got together and had our version of "Iron Chef" this past Memorial Day. Ice cream was determined to the what the contest would be based on. I saw this recipe and decided that I would use it because I decided that the less complex the recipe the better. Needless to say, I won the contest by the votes of multitudes of people at the celebration. I doubled the recipe to fit my ice cream maker. It had a very rich vanilla flavor and the combination of honey and brown sugar added a deeper dimension of sweetness to it. Almost caramel-like. It had a really smooth creamy texture that was unlike any of the other contestants. It was almost fluffy. Thank you for the recipe. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have tried many ice cream recipes with no luck, but this one is AWESOME!!!! I made it for a dinner party this past weekend and it got RAVE reviews!! They were all lovin' the flavor the honey added and it was so thick and creamy. To top it all off, this recipe is just the righ amount to fit into my Cuisinart ice cream maker so it was perfect! I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coleridge, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great taste and consistancy but way too sweet! Would reduce the brown sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe! I'd never made ice cream before and recently bought a KitchenAid ice cream maker attachment for my stand mixer. This recipe looked better than the one in the KitchenAid booklet so I decided to try it. It turned out very rich, sweet and buttery tasting and reminded me somewhat of butter pecan flavor. I didn't have a thermometer to measure the temperature while cooking and wasn't sure how "thick" the egg/milk mixture was supposed to get. I cooked the mixture about 10-15 minutes and it became quite frothy on the top so I thought it must be done at that point. It wasn't what I would call "thick" but it did seem like the texture was slightly different than when it started. I tried another Honey Vanilla recipe since making this one and it didn't have sugar but a lot more honey (3/4 cup). It didn't turn out as tasty as this recipe so I imagine this one is hard to beat! The only downside is how fattening it is....which I wouldn't worry about when making for a party/other guests but for just us at home will have to make lower fat gelato & sorbet recipes so we don't balloon up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I wanted something different from the traditional vanilla ice cream and this fit the bill perfectly! I wasn't sure what to expect. But what I got, was an ice cream turned out so creamy and delicious, with a subtle honey taste while you indulge but the honey taste really kicks in afterwards. What a wonderful way to enjoy each bite of your ice cream! I knew this ice cream would turn out creamy when it said to strain the custard. This technique is usually used in a gelato recipe that I absolutely love! Always turns out smooth and extra creamy! I used vanilla extract since I didn't have vanilla beans on hand and there was a very small "bite" of "too much sweetness" in the ice cream, but nothing too noticeable. I think reducing the sugar just a smidgen would work fine. Otherwise, if you want an alternative to plain vanilla...This Is It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Delicious! Perfect on its own, but I added toasted coconut and broken pecan granola bars...excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T and this is phenomenal ice cream! Wow! It is so unique in flavor and would be amazing paired with applie pie or crisp. GREAT RECIPE! Actually now that I think about it I accidently scraped the bean in step 1...that was my own fault, but didn't hurt the ice cream any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Oh, my freakin' WORD!!! This will have to be kept under lock and key to keep me from making myself sick gobbling it all up before the holiday. I made it today to have for serving on top of Thanksgiving pies, and it's so unbelievably delicious that it's a major temptation. The marriage of honey and vanilla is sheer genius! The honey is just barely discernible, but it complements the vanilla flavor to perfection. I didn't have any whole milk, so I substituted fat-free half and half. No matter. The texture is wonderful, the flavor sublime. It melts in a silken ribbon on the tongue, leaving a delightful taste on the palate that makes you crave another spoonful. I cut back on the brown sugar by 25% after reading several reviews that noted excessive sweetness. After tasting the solution, it was just a bit short of sweetness, so I simply added about 2 Tb Splenda to make it just right. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States